a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

My SL Pet Peeve’s Meme

This week’s meme from Strawberry Singh is out of the ordinary but delightfully wonderful to see. Pet Peeve’s! We all have them. Those things that don’t really cause an impact in our lives but do make us roll our eyes and sigh in exasperation.

We spend so much time online being overly polite, sugar-coating the words we type in an attempt to limit the amount of people we could offend. I’m sure most agree that the backspace button isn’t just used to correct typo’s but instead is the conscience button we vet our sentences via, before hitting the “enter” button and sending our thoughts to another.

2013 04 03 Meme rant with words

Now before people jump up and down about what I’m about to say. Let me assure you that pet peeves are just that nothing more. They are not things that should lead you to lash out at someone or make your existence unhappy or uncomfortable. They are purely those things for you to shake your head at and continue on your way.

So what makes Miss PB roll her eyes, shake her head and wish she could stab the eyeballs out of the poor person doing the action …

  • BLING !!!

Why, oh why, does bling still exist in SL? Yes, it was exciting for the first three months back in 2007. Then it became just plain annoying and now many years later it is just for the unknowing newbie.

We cannot comment on your jewellery for we risk eye surgery from the traffic light controls flashing spasmodically as we cam in close enough to admire the beautiful gems.

We can usually tell the married folk because of the matching “Wifey”, “Hubby” tags above the head. Therefore those blinding shards of light emitting from your engagement ring drawing attention are not necessary. Don’t even get me started on attempting to do wedding photography with jewellery that blings!

  • PROFILES – USE them

Generally people within SL want people to talk to them, yet so many people leave their profiles blank, devoid of information, not giving a stranger even the slightest hint as to what to talk about after “Hi”.

Profile’s aren’t meant to be empty and can send the wrong message such as:

  1. “I’m an alt”
  2. “I’m only here for cyber sex and not wasting time on a profile”
  3. “I think I’m boring as I can’t think of a single thing to say”

By making an effort of just a few lines it can open up a conversation and make engaging with others that much easier.

Now for the people who don’t read profiles. Spend the two minutes it takes and read them. You don’t have to read each and every tab to find out they have a cat called Snickers, six SL siblings and if you do anything to them your going to be hunted down and killed! (yes that should be a peeve just on it own. It is SL people time to lose the mafia mentality).

You are guaranteed to learn something about someone if they have taken the time to design a profile. The added bonus, it saves the embarrassment of wrongly targeted sexual flirts and if you have glanced to see if someone has a signifciant other, you can speak appropriately. Respect goes a long way.

  • PERV’S

Like most in SL I’ve had my fair share of unrequested and unappreciated pervy random IM’s. The eyes start rolling to the back of my head when the IM pops up with:

  • “you’re so sexy” or “you’re so hot”
  • “those lips would looks good around my _ _ _ _.”
  • “looking good babe, wanna _ _ _ _”

Or in the middle of a store the gentleman that was well dressed two minutes ago, suddenly becomes naked and walks up to you with his attachment erect and asks you, “Do you like?”.

These people usually receive a quick slap of an insult from the sharp edge of my tongue in main chat. “Errr, is that a wart on the head? Yes, I think you need to look closer .. I am sure that is a wart! OMG you managed to get herpes in SL!!!!  Here, quick take this landmark and go get yourself a new penis. You can’t go poking people with that!!!!”

I know there are many a sex sim that horny peeps can hang out in (and yes I know not everyone that hangs out on a sex sim are horny so please don’t send me hate mail) … but why are the sexually intent let loose in shopping malls and SL events! I just want to feed my shoe addiction! Face palms!

  • FACE LIGHTS

With the correct use of graphic settings face lights are no longer needed. When someone rezz’s in front of you with ten shapes hovering their body and a light source that could rival solar flares seen with the hubble telescope you know you have a misguided soul beside you.

All I’m going to say on that topic is … IF you believe that you need that much assistance in making your skin beautiful it is time for a new skin !!!

  • CHAT LINGO

We all don’t speak the english language and I often converse using google translator when I cross a language barrier. However the use of cellphone chat style in my IM has me climbing walls.

There have been sentences where the text has been shortened so much that I’ve had to throw my hands in the air and say, “I don’t know what you’re saying!”. Call me an ancient relic, but conversations will be one-sided when someone uses “chat speak” for I don’t enjoy the continual decipher game with each line received. If I want puzzles I’ll play icomania on my iPad.

We aren’t limited to characters and there is no time limitations on hitting that send button so lets use full words and sentences.

My three chat speak pet peeves:

  • how r u? .. if you want me to answer more than just “good” at least attempt to look like your interested in finding out by typing the whole line.
  • gr8t .. come on people you are saving yourself from typing ONE letter!
  • wats up .. if you want me to imagine you as Bugs Bunny, hit me with it.

Please don’t take offence at anything written here, for it is mostly written tongue in cheek knowing that I am far from perfect and frustrating to people with my over use of LOL, OMG, and !!!!!. My pet peeves will be different to yours as they are personal and based upon the standards you set for yourself.

However .. if you have a bunny in a leather thong with bling, who says “wats up babe”, send me an IM!

6 comments on “My SL Pet Peeve’s Meme

  1. Strawberry Singh
    April 4, 2013

    You worded this so well and it’s exactly how I feel: “Let me assure you that pet peeves are just that nothing more. They are not things that should lead you to lash out at someone or make your existence unhappy or uncomfortable. They are purely those things for you to shake your head at and continue on your way.”
    Thank you for participating!

  2. purplebutterflylykin
    April 4, 2013

    Thank’s Strawberry for visiting .. love the meme’s and the chance to express ourselves in so many different ways.

  3. SirTrifle
    April 4, 2013

    promise to read when i have time

  4. spunknbrains
    April 4, 2013

    I knew you would love this meme sis. Cute picture if a tad scary!

  5. peepsideshow
    April 23, 2013

    Ohhh…I hate “idk”! Seriously, it just makes my blood boil.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 25, 2013

      Thanks for visiting Peep. Glad to know its not just my blood that boils. Makes me feel semi-normal now haha.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Strawberry Singh's Monday Blogger Memes and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

