a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

(4 of 30) – Did you see the white rabbit?

2013 06 05 PB Alice pic 1No wonder your late.

Why?

This watch is exactly two days slow.

~Mad Hatter – Alice in Wonderland.

Time zones! Time differences! Time conversions!

Even after years of shared friendship with people around the world these are the things that make my head spin and cogs whirl as I try to work out what time that is for me in Australia.

Years ago I sat up all night just to guarantee I would attend a close friends SecondLife wedding. Being her one and only bridesmaid the pressure to not sleep through my 4.00am alarm requirement was just too great. Not long after the ceremony, somewhere between cutting the cake and first dance I fell asleep at the keyboard. Thankfully my auto logout function was still enabled in those days and my pixels were appropriately sent to bed not leaving her standing in the corner to participate in the next wedding as an uninvited guest.

Many many times I have turned up as an event finishes or worse, the day before, or day after because my conversions have been incorrect. Nothing like arriving in style with a “woohoo here to party” and realizing that all the guests have already gone home!

My latest time zone fumble was with this 30 day challenge. Thinking I had a little more time up my sleeve yesterday, I spent hours exploring the RUST sim where my photos had been taken. After a quick glance at the clock I realized I had not hit the publish button to make the date deadline.

2013 06 05 Alice Details Collage

Look at the amazing detail .. I just love it.

I knew when signing up for this challenge it was not going to be easy. The immediate fear was what on earth am I going to write about for 30 days! I issue no guarantee that at some stage in this challenge I won’t be talking dribble as not being a fashion blog requires the mind to be more inventive with posts.

More important to me was the personal growth I wanted to experience by participating in the challenge. Being someone who has a strong perfectionist streak, coupled with a healthy dose of OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder) I am constantly looking for ways in my life that stretch my acceptance that not all needs to be done to perfection. So instead of tying myself up in knots about being behind in the challenge I’m having a giggle and thinking.. “damm time zones have got me again”.

2013 06 05 PB Alice 2

The question can be asked, will my future posts for this challenge be on time? I can categorically state I will try because that is my nature. However maths and I aren’t close friends, add in time zones and some healthy distractions and the answer is more likely .. I totally doubt it.

Credits
Photo 1: Pose – Starry Heaven Purikura 4
Photo 3: Pose – aDORKable poses Je t’aime 5  with aDORKable poses Je t’aime 3 wearable heart
Hair: Truth – Kendall w Roots – Treacle
Necklace: EBDesign – Cameo Necklace – Little White Bunny
Dress: Wishbox – Alice in Wonderland
Shoes: Wishbox – Jane Heels
Location: Private Sim
5 comments on “(4 of 30) – Did you see the white rabbit?

  1. Trav
    June 5, 2013

    Don’t be late!! Yes, SL time zones are a challenge. I have stayed up late and/or gotten up early just to spend time with someone in another part of the world. BTW, what time is it in OZ? are you awake or sleeping. Keep it up. I love reading your posts.

  2. Slynny (or Anee)
    June 5, 2013

    You have problems with time zones?!?! I’m shocked!! *giggles*

    http://www.timezoneconverter.com/cgi-bin/tzc.tzc
    You ARE sitting at a computer after all 😛

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 5, 2013

      Be kind sis .. we will say I have trouble with them whilst I’m sleeping haha

  3. Becky
    June 7, 2013

    Wow, those pics of the bunnies are from SL!? How cute are they? I hear you on the hairy audacious goal of writing 30 posts in 30 days, and I too arrived to the party one day late. Sadly, I don’t have a timezone to blame, as I’m only 1 hour off Vanessa’s own time… hmm, will have to jerryrig the dates somehow, or make amends by writing two posts in one day… I’ll figure it out. I like the idea of seeing this as a growth challenge though, I know that creativity is a habit, and writing a daily post will certainly tax me, as I tend to write at most half as much as that. Well, good luck with the challenge, I’ll be rooting for you, and all the other bloggers out there who are crazy enough to try this. Happy treadmilling 😉

  4. Pingback: Avatar Blogger Month - Reading the Blogs! | iRez SaloniRez Salon

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

