a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

(10 of 30) Lesson Challenge 2 – Love your body

Last week I mentioned about the Best Year of Your Life Challenge that I’m doing with my sister Alexa. You can find all the details for the program here for those interested. Whilst Lesson 2 can be found in full detail on Alexa’s blog and if taking the challenge I guide you to read it in full, however in short it is about listening to the cues from your body regarding what it “needs” and then giving yourself the time and attention to care about yourself. We all know that only if we are running at full steam can the other aspects of our lives be successful.

2013 06 11 PB Cold Sniffles

Even if I am posting this a few days late of the Friday guideline, this week’s challenge was like a gift from the gods. After what seems like a week in hell looking after a sick toddler whilst suffering the same winter cold, my body, with little sleep was left feeling beyond exhausted whilst my mind had become a fog filled field of thoughts that barely made sense to even myself.

Aware of my obligations for Second Life’s 10th Birthday celebrations and even this blog, I realized and listened to the cues that I needed to take some “time out” from SecondLife. I knew that even if I logged in to organise inventory I would see the IM asking for help and off I would rush, leaving myself at risk of making huge mistakes that could adversely impact on others or at the very least waste the time of the poor person who came behind to fix up any errors made.

When not dealing with “lil one” I made the conscious decision to not spend it with other members of my family but spend that free time sleeping! Without a rebalance of rest I knew I would not only be emotionally fragile and cranky but I would end up running my body further into the ground resulting in me being useless to all.

Maybe a sign of addiction or duty, I didn’t completely turn off from my obligations over the past four days with a couple of brief visits made into SecondLife. Clearing messages to ensure I didn’t miss any important memo’s regarding SL10 birthday and giving Cotton Sox’s a quick cuddle so she didn’t report me to SL’s cruelty to animals group.

2013 05 25 pb and cotton soxs cuddle

The time away was refreshing and once the fog lifted my mind was once again whirling with ideas and questions.

I am very open to all, that my real life always has priority over my second life. Without hesitation I go AFK when my attention is needed in the real world, logging out suddenly sometimes without lengthy explanations or apologies.  Often my friends get, “gtg baby crying” and poof I’m gone. Anyone that doesn’t understand that important distinction between rudeness and priorities rarely last long on my friends list.

However over the years the care and well-being of my virtual life has become as important as that same care of my real life. The friendships formed, the responsibilities I take on and the promises I make all have my real self at their core. It therefore makes sense that we need to also listen to the cue’s of our SL to keep ourselves happy, healthy and balanced even in this realm. Over the past few years, I’ve learnt that when feeling emotional drained, annoyed beyond belief or just plain tired of SL, the key for me is a self-imposed “time out”. When I return there is a smile upon my face and a renewed excitement about all I see.

I would be really interested to know what other ideas we can share about how to rebalance and recharge our virtual lives.

2013 06 11 PB Cold Computer

7 comments on “(10 of 30) Lesson Challenge 2 – Love your body

  1. Slynny (or Anee)
    June 12, 2013

    The title of this post was misleading…and I’ll just leave it at that 😛

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 12, 2013

      Hahaha hoping for some hot pixel perv sis?

      • Slynny (or Anee)
        June 12, 2013

        a girl can dream 🙂

  2. conrodlane
    June 12, 2013

    Yes balance is the key. RL has nor doubt got the priority. Saying that SL does play a role in my RL. A time to escape from the responsibilities and have some fun in what has to be one of the most interactive and creative things you can do online. 🙂

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 15, 2013

      Certainly agree with you there Conrodlane, SecondLife certainly has been the only place I’ve found myself which is truly immersive.

  3. Dremmy
    June 14, 2013

    You need some good ole Italian Escarole soup my dear. :))

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 15, 2013

      Soup sounds REALLY good right now .. even just plain ole chicken noodle LOL. Wanna make me some of that Italian one tho Dremmy, it sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

