a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

(24 out of 30) Lesson Challenge 4 – Count Your Blessings

  Are we etched in stone or grains of sand

waiting for the waves to come

and reclaim the land?

~ Matt Squire

2013 06 27 PB sunset sharpenedIn both sphere’s RL and SL, I had just finished spending a few days contemplating all that I have in my life, things that I felt were unfilled and those things I let myself just dream about.

As it was for Alexa, this weeks lesson challenge could not have been more timely in my life. During the beginning of this week I did not post for I was partly run down from battling this rather persistent cold, RL obligations were pulling me everywhere and my mind was deep in thought about the meaning of life and wondering how can you prepare yourself to say goodbye to someone you love when you know their time with you is coming to an end.

I finally decided that you simply cannot prepare yourself to ever say goodbye, all you can do is embrace the love you feel an experience the feelings of gratitude of having that person still in your life right now. With that thought in mind, I reorganised my RL schedule and spent over 9 hours driving just over 600 kilometers (372 miles) to visit my nearly 90 year old grandmother for three hours. I wanted to tell her how much I loved her and how grateful I was that she is in my life. We held hands, talked about times long ago when I was a child and even began making christmas plans for December.

In that RL act of gratitude I also experienced an SL one. Travelling alone in bad weather is not top of anyone’s list of things to do. I was extremely lucky to have my SL mom and best friend in yahoo along the way keeping me safe in her thoughts. Just being able to connect with someone at each pit-stop made me forget the flooded roads I had needed to navigate and the many wheel slips experienced. Moments like this make you appreciate and grateful for the virtual world we all inhabit and for the very real friendships we develop here and carry with us into our real worlds.

Not surprisingly, this week’s lesson is about gratitude. It can be found in full on Alexa’s blog as usual.

In short if we spend less time wanting what we don’t have and instead focusing on being grateful for those things we do have we will be more satisfied and happy. If we take joy and delight in the little things in our life we find we actually have a lot of things to be grateful about. So this week make a list of all the things you should be grateful for but normally take for granted and feel the love flow through you.

2 comments on “(24 out of 30) Lesson Challenge 4 – Count Your Blessings

  1. Slynny (or Anee)
    July 1, 2013

    a very important lesson that everyone should do whether they are participating in the challenge or not 🙂

    I think your friendship would at the top of my list, sis 🙂 even if we aren’t ‘besties’ anymore

    • purplebutterflylykin
      July 1, 2013

      Hugss Sis I consider your friendship one of the best things life online has ever given me. I was sooo lucky so many years ago to find someone like you amongst the crowd. x

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

