a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

The end of a 30 day whirlwind

2013 06 27 PB Blogging

When I decided to join in the fun of the irez 30 posts in 30 days challenge I didn’t think I would even come close to achieving the target, somewhere in my mind was a target of around 15. After all I had only posted 19 posts in the four months I had been blogging. Achieving 26 posts in the month whilst knowing real life commitments dragged me away at moments has left me with a sense of satisfaction and achievement, even if it wasn’t the magical number 30.

Although loving the writing opportunity blogging provides me, I was finding a once a week post challenging enough. Whilst others seemed to be able to throw out a post a day with photo I found I was putting in more hours than necessary attempting to make sure that each post was written “correctly” along with what seemed like hours on hours trying to create an appropriate photo.

Completing this challenge has taught me many things and I will always be thankful for Vanessa Blaylock for hosting and inspiring us all to “give it a go”. Support and encouragement are vital in the blog world and one thing I will take away is the importance that comments and hitting that like button can make to a blogger. We are a community with communication being the tools of our trade.

I’ve learnt there is no right or wrong when it comes to a post. There isn’t this mythical crowd of people who decide if your post hits the mark. Messages for one are not necessarily messages for all however what you write will speak to someone if it is meant to. Most people play it safe and write to cause as little conflict as possible. Others may not agree with your thoughts but as long as you speak genuinely from your beliefs there should be no judgements.

At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter if you have one follower or 1000, blogging comes down to the personal sense of pride and accomplishment you feel when you have hit that post button.

ABC-GoldStarABC GoldStar15ABCGoldStar21ABC GoldStar30

8 comments on “The end of a 30 day whirlwind

  1. Vanessa Blaylock
    July 3, 2013

    Awesome PBL! It was so great meeting you!

    Yes, posts take me forever also. I keep thinking there must be a faster way, but so far I haven’t found it. Oh well, you’ll be the first to know if I figure it out! 😀

    Meanwhile… I think you owe yourself one more badge! Go get it!
    http://irez.me/2013/07/01/avatar-blogger-month-finish/

    xoxo
    Van

    • purplebutterflylykin
      July 19, 2013

      Thanks Vanessa for running an awesome challenge. It was invaluable to me as a new blogger to participate. Will cuddle my gold shiny stars happily 🙂

  2. Becky
    July 5, 2013

    It certainly was an interesting challenge, wasn’t it? I noticed, and am really glad, that the challenge transitioned into more of a time-set (e.g. just blog for 30 days) as opposed to a numerical challenge (“30 posts in 30 days.”). In that way it became about diving headfirst into the blogging process as opposed to simply pushing out dross just to hit an arbitrary number. Like you, I learned a lot about my own approach to blogging, my own perspectives on quality, I was introduced to so many bloggers I’d never seen before, and I now understand more about what drives me to blog. It takes me hours to write a post also, and of course, I can’t help but feel happy when I receive a “like” or comment, no matter how short… (“Someone is reading this?!?!”) Some posts hit “the mark” of social approval, some posts don’t. Regardless, it’s the journey I enjoy, from idea to hitting that publish button.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      July 19, 2013

      One thing I was impressed with was the qualities of the blogs from all participants. Was fantastic to see that at no stage did anyone simply go for easy and compromise their personal blog standards. My “follow” list grew substantially LOL.

    • Vanessa Blaylock
      July 23, 2013

      Yes Becky, I too was “pleasantly surprised” that the challenge evolved into being more about “30 days!” 🙂 I heard a really interesting talk by Douglas Rushkoff recently:
      http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/events/luncheon/2013/06/rushkoff

      One point he made was contrasting the “old” internet days of BBS’ like “The Well” where you’d spend hours crafting a response that made you sound more intelligent than you were in real life… vs… for example, Facebook status updates, where we try hard to be clever, but pretty much sound less intelligent than we are in real life…

      There’s no doubt that for sheer numbers, Facebook wins. But I really don’t care about sheer numbers. I care about interesting people and interesting ideas. And for that I find the smaller community of bloggers to be a very compelling place.

      BTW Becky, out of so many wonderful posts from so many wonderful peeps in June, your “home tour” was one of my very favorite of them all. The architecture you chose, the way you sited and decorated it, and your documentation of it all were magnificent and sublime. That post was a perfect example of how, be it “Real Life” or “Virtual Life,” the quality of “being real” and meaningful isn’t about being made of atoms or bits, but it is about the energy, the passion, the focus, and the love poured into it. I suppose a little like Pinocchio, “reality” isn’t some absolute quality of things, but is the product of desire.

      Perhaps there’s another challenge, or blogging group, to create in the future? The idea behind iRez was to gather a number of interesting peeps under “one roof,” and that’s been very exciting and rewarding. But it could also be to gather a number of interesting peeps “individual roofs” in a collective.

      I’ve been thinking about creating a Virtual Stitch ‘n Bitch. IRL a Stitch ‘n Bitch is a “social knitting group.” And I wondered if we couldn’t take a patch of virtual land and create a hangout where you could come work on a building project, or a blog piece, or whatever you felt like working on… and chat and be social and share and interact with other peeps at the same time…

  3. Aurie Elton
    July 19, 2013

    I appreciated this post a lot. It’s true that it can become a torturous and long process to try to be witty and meaningful and artistic and everything all the time.

    What I love about blogging is that it’s shorter than writing a book but more meaningful than a 140-character tweet.

    I would love to try the 30in30 challenge next time.

    Take care and keep writing 🙂

    Aurie

    • purplebutterflylykin
      July 19, 2013

      Thanks for visiting Aurie. I totally have to agree with you that blogging is the easier road than writing a book but much more engaging than a tweet. One reason I have never got the twitter bug is the140 characters. I would end up spending hours trying to ammend my thoughts to fit. (Laughs, but its true!)

      Really hope to see you in the next 30 challenge, I’m sure it will happen again 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

