a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson Challenge 11 – Shadow Box.

2013 08 07 PB Boom Box 2

Rarely would we leave someone on our friends list if they continually talked down to us or degraded us in any way. There would be a quick hit of the delete button and maybe even a tap to the mute button if they had been particularly offensive. After all, none of us enjoy our ego’s, pride or feelings hurt.

Yet somehow, we are our nastiest critics and rarely turn off our negative self talk. Instead often giving it our full attention, letting it cause us damage as it consumes our thoughts and influences our actions. We all do it, yes, even inside SecondLife. How many times have you thought, “well, I really stuffed that up,” or moaned “I’m such a fool, I should have realized,” or worse “its to be expected when it comes to me!” Even the basic, “I can’t do that” puts that spin of negativity into our lives.

Something I liked about this week’s lesson is the imagery created by Debbie Ford around viewing the whole concept of negative self talk, as a Shadow Box. A boom box that repeats the same loud and obnoxious message disturbing our rather peaceful pleasant lives.

Negative self talk is probably one of the biggest hurdles we face in life so to be able to see it in our mind as a piece of equipment, means just like any device, we can switch it off!

I decided to give this a try so any negative message from either myself or others during this week, I just imagined in my mind turning the dial to a new channel, a new tune. I was surprised by the sense of calm and happiness I was left with. Maybe this comes from taking control of the situation without dispute, conflict or self hating?

So this week join me in giving it a try. When you hear that boom box in your ear sending those messages, think of the message as garbled static interrupting your favourite song, give the knob a quick turn and continue to enjoy your week. Who knows, maybe you will get the same positive effects as I did from listening to a new beat.

Feel free to share what steps you take to stop yourself from being your own worst enemy.

The whole lesson can be found here as usual on Alexa Maravilla’s blog

Credits
Eyes: IKON Eternal Eyes – Dusk ML
Hair: DeLa Mesh Hair – Lori Dark Brown 2
Jacket: Lapointe & Bastchild Drift Women’s Jacket
Ti-shirt: Devillish Designs – Fender Stratocaster Guitar Tee Black
Accessories: Goodstuff 80’s Boom Box
4 comments on “Lesson Challenge 11 – Shadow Box.

  1. Trav
    August 17, 2013

    I am very good at listening to my boom box and wish I knew how to shut it off. I am so self conscious about parts of my anatomy that I talk down to myself all of the time. I wont go out in public without a shirt on and that is why I don’t swim any more. I guess we all have boom boxes. I just wish mine wasn’t so loud at times or at least would change stations. PB, I love your blog.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      August 17, 2013

      Body image is that one little niche that seems to gets us every single time Trav, be we women or men.

      You know the scenario, your feeling great one minute, thinking your holding your own and then catch a glimpse of your reflection in a window or someone younger, prettier, better dressed sits beside you and that internal dialogue starts up in over drive. I firmly believe that our negative self talk resides in a very materialistic part of our character makeup and really should learn some manners. LOL.

      It’s moments like these when we really need to just take a deep breathe and remember the truth. It is not the cosmetic facade we front the world with that brings those who love us into our lives. It is what resides within our hearts and souls, the compassion, loyalty and love we share with others that are what our true worth is judged upon and to me, those are qualities I’ll always value more than a buff pair of abs.

      Hugs PB x

  2. Slynny (or Anee)
    August 17, 2013

    Imagery is a powerful thing. More of us should use it in a positive way instead of letting the negative image dictate our feelings. Excellent idea with the boom box, sis, and one I plan on not only using myself, but passing along to others.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      August 17, 2013

      I found this simple technique had such amazing results this week that I certainly plan on using it more. Think of the positive effects on someones life if you were to learn this tool at a young age. Hugs sis.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

