a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Pass me the cake!

Just sayin’ …

Mr Grey prefers brunettes …

who like to eat

2013 05 16 PB at Cheeky Tiramisu cafe

Have you ever wondered what it would really be like to have someone tell you what to eat or what not to eat? How to dress or how often to exercise.

Most of us have experienced in life “mother” moments. Were love and guidance is delivered via sentences we dread hearing.

 “Your not leaving this house wearing that skirt, you look like you work a street corner.”

“Do you really think you need that last piece of cake?”

Leaving talk about mother’s to another time and place I’ve decided to tackle a more risque subject.  Like most adults with reading skills I spent last year with my nose buried within the pages of the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy written by E.L. James. Although far from being a literary masterpiece its popularity cannot be disputed with millions of copies being sold worldwide.

The amount of open conversation held in the public arena about this trilogy was interesting. From talk shows to current affairs, morning news breakfast to late night comedy sketches, 50 Shades of Grey was a hot topic of conversation. Discussions about sexual appetite, erotica, fetishes and fantasies became common topics at dinner parties, around work lunch tables an over coffee with girlfriends. As people across age groups devoured the story line  there was this wave of wanting to discuss and understand sexual needs and desires.

Unlike most books of this type it didn’t fall completely into the “chic” romance category as many a man borrowed their wives, girlfriends and colleagues copies to see for themselves what the fuss was about.

Aside from a handful of kinky sex acts involving handcuffs, blindfolds and a feather flogger, most of the sexual contact within the books is mainstream sex, therefore making 50 Shades of Grey far from an instructional booklet on the lifestyle so I do sympathise with those living real BDSM lifestyles who often roll their eyes at 50 Shades being nothing more than some poorly written kinky creative writing exercise that tickles the imagination of those who fantasise about something not so “vanilla”.

Whether you participate or not, SecondLife for as long as I can remember has had a fairly open and transparent sexual overture. Just as 50 Shades opened the eyes for some to different S&M activities, SecondLife can allow people to explore their fantasies within a safe context.

With the popularity of the books, BDSM relationships appeared to flourish inside SecondLife, with many people “playing” the role of Dominate or submissive. It will be interesting to see when the movie is released in 2014 whether the easier to digest visual version instead of text will cause another spike of interest in all things “kinky”.

Most within SecondLife have little knowledge regarding the lifestyle and few truly understand the deep level of trust and commitment that are the corner stones and foundations to any BDSM relationship using it as nothing more than an excuse to rezz funky looking play toys and enjoy some fantasy erotic sex that within a real life situation neither would engage in.

However, is this “pretending” or lack of knowledge a bad thing?

My personal feeling is that any activity that allows people to think and explore their inner needs and desires whilst being within a safe context where harm is minimal is a good thing. Far too often in life we are constrained by social settings and standards. Others place their judgements and expectations upon us and we behave accordingly.

So if reading erotica, watching adult movies, chatting in adult chat rooms or exploring the sexual side of SecondLife provides an opportunity to greater understand your sexual thoughts and behaviour then I see no harm in it.

With that being said, I share frustration maybe with those who live and breathe these alternative lifestyles. I am a firm believer in researching the why and how to fully understand behaviour and desires. I see no point in “playing” domination or submission if you are not going to sink deep within and see what it is that feeds your desire to experience that role.

For the most part 50 Shades of Grey and SecondLife BDSM mostly end up like an age old fairy tale on steroids. Full of fantasy and little substance.

The submissive female is saved by an alpha male hero who is usually a good looking tortured soul. His willingness to protect is usually edited by the female to .. protect and care. With little acts of kindess the female projects the image of falling in love. After all, who engages in sexual behaviour if there is no emotional base? (feigns shock and disbelief). Anastasia did end up Mrs Grey living happily ever after. so maybe a collar is just a bigger version of a wedding ring?

Just some random thoughts swirling around my mind. Would love to hear others views .. .anyone for some cake and coffee?

Credits
Location: Cheeky tiramisu cafe & forest
Pose: bounce this poses – b phone
Hair: truth – blair – chocolate
Top: ricelli mesh blazer & shirt – camera
Pants: coldlogic capri – lepore black
Shoes: deer mesh vanha shoes
handbag: C’est La vie – messy bag -leather & leopard black
7 comments on “Pass me the cake!

  1. Dremmy
    August 19, 2013

    Pulls up a chair and sips the coffee and listens to PB’s views of the world of BDSM. Not that I’m inclined to find out for myself you know!! :))

    • purplebutterflylykin
      August 19, 2013

      Hands Dremmy a big slice of cake and makes mention how interest and curiosity leads even the most timid kittens astray.

  2. spunknbrains
    August 19, 2013

    Pulls up the other chair.. hearing from a little bird that you were having a book discussion on the 50 Shades of Grey and the experience of BDSM in Second Life. I just came for the um desserts.

    Good read sissy. 🙂

    • purplebutterflylykin
      September 3, 2013

      Laughs … Of course it was just the whipped italian buttercream frosting on the cake that fascinated you sis.

  3. xLiquidDreamsx
    August 30, 2013

    OMG! CAKE!! Yes please! =)))

    Ok.. *noms some cake* … let’s get to the sharing thoughts part. I can write a whole blog entry here right?

    The 50 Shades of Grey trilogy…. Read them. Had to. I had a male friend curious about what I would think of them. Why? Lord only knows! Hehe! He gave me the books on tape. I don’t really do books on tape. I’m an obsessive reader. But I gave it a go. Talk about WRONG! Apparently the voices I create in my head for characters in books do not sync with audio books. Lesson learned. So I snagged the ebooks and set out to find out what had him so intrigued.

    For me they were not overly memorable books. But they weren’t horrible either. Definitely worth the giggles I got over my friends deep desire to know what I thought of them. And let’s face it… anyone who knows the lifestyle (let alone lives it) should know it is as varied as it gets. One persons right way is another persons wrong. So for some no doubt the books just might be all about that. But the story line behind the male character made these books about something other in my mind. So while I give them an A+ for sparking curiosity and exploration in those that read them. For me I’d never categorize them as go to bdsm type reads. And that is my much shortened condensed opinion.

    So moving on… you know I’ve never really understood why people like to eat ice cream with cake. Pie yes. But cake… no. Cake is best enjoyed with more cake! Or whipped topping and fruit. Mmm… I love cake! I really should eat it more often. =)

    Ok back on track… BDSM in Second Life. I feel that exploring the life style in Second Life or partaking in what it has to offer there is only bad if you make it or allow it to be so. However real life it is not. And while I must confess that I’ve had more than one good laugh at some of the things people come up with. Because… well how could I not? This is me we’re talking about. And I am rather easily amused. But I’ve also had a few moments when I first arrived in Second Life where I was appalled by the disrespectful and/or inappropriate behavior happening around me. What can I say? I take such things very seriously, and I have a healthy respect for the rules. Even when I’m breaking them. *GRINS* So for me personally having lived in the lifestyle 24/7 for years, even though I clearly know Second Life is a game and others online behavior so often varies from real life, It can still offend me in some strange way. And i do feel that Second Life’s version can lack a bit of that necessary something it needs before it can give one a true idea of what it is like to walk in to a proper House or Dungeon. Or be involved in that type of relationship in the real world. Still it’s all good clean or perhaps not so clean fun. So when it comes to such things in SL I say be smart about it, and enjoy it for what it is if that is what you are so inclined to do. =)

    • purplebutterflylykin
      September 3, 2013

      hahaha Liquid, the cake got you in too didn’t it !!!!
      As for cake and ice-cream .. I’m happy to try all sorts of sides to my helping of cake, in the end it just means more cake right?
      Think your ending advice is the best .. .as long as people are smart in what they participate in there should be no harm.
      So glad that you settled on in and participated in the conversation 🙂
      Hugs PB

  4. Pingback: Just a spectrum of “shades” | a SECOND for Imagination

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2013 by in Idle Thoughts and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

I wanna let her take control (.. maybe just once or twice) ;)

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

