a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson 21: Openhearted Giving

Maybe you noticed that the lesson challenges disappeared the past few weeks? Bet you thought I was just being a little lax and once again running behind schedule.

As you are about to discover, the past few weeks challenges have been a little, shall we say, challenging.

Lesson 21 is about giving. Not the go out and buy a gift type of giving which is relatively easy for most of us and costs at most, a little time and finances. We aren’t even talking the baking of a cake or hand crafted gift to express love. Although more of an investment of ourselves we still remain within safe giving territory. This week we are venturing into a position of vulnerability, participating in the hardest form of giving, risking that which is most precious to ourselves, our heart.

2013 10 30 PB and Andro carry me

Giving from our hearts should be easy. For most however it is one of the most difficult forms of expression; especially when the heart carries pain and baggage of a failed previous relationship or loss of friendship. It is those experiences that cause us to batten down the hatches, showing a hardened exterior whilst censoring the words that do manage to escape our lips.

My wish has always been to share how the weekly lesson can be adapted and implemented into “second” life. I’ve never wanted to just copy and post the weekly lesson just to ensure the numbers stay on track. Therefore I hope you forgive the delays in bring you the results because sometimes lessons deserve longer than a week for full effect.

Sharing how much we care about someone and expressing the ways they improve our lives enables us to feel the tenderness within our heart.  As the lesson asked to reflect on three special people and gift to them open hearted love my immediate thought was how do I do something special for people I spend each day with? After all, they know how I feel about them … don’t they?

2013 10 30 PB and Andro playing in the pumpkin patch

Given the depth of the lovely friendships I share with Alexa and Dremmy I like to believe that rarely a week goes by where I don’t show these ladies how important and valued they are in my life. My token gift pales in significance of the importance just our daily conversations together are to me. Aside from making more effort to be the first to engage with good mornings and good night, I also attempted to spend more time with each doing their “thing”.

Whether it was watching Dremmy dance up on stage as part of the Go-Go girls for Johnny Paramour or sharing the same rezz platform whilst sorting inventory with Alexa. It was the simple act of taking time out to share little moments together which I hope shows my appreciation for the friendships.

 Go Go Girls & Johnny

Live Singer – Johnny Paramour and the Go Go Girls

Andro often see’s my constant struggle to let down the defences. Over a few conversations I sensed his excitement about this being his first ever SecondLife Halloween. With so many SecondLife Halloween’s under my belt, this year I was tired and unenthusiastic to even decorate the house. I realized the greatest gift I could give Andro was to let go of the “tied to the past” PB and see SecondLife once again through new eyes.

2013 10 30 PB and Andro in the leaves BOO

I hope that the spider webs, pumpkins and candy apples. Along with the trick a treating at Havenhallow, various Halloween hunts completed and games amongst autumn leaves express to him the words I rarely speak. That he is indeed an important part of my SecondLife.

2013 Halloween Home

Lastly, sneaking in a fourth person, my sister Anee (Slynn). Although no longer inside SecondLife she is never forgotten in my life here. It fills me with such gratitude to know she actively participates with comments here on my blog purely as a way of staying connected and sharing my life here. I hope she realizes, putting aside the long history of friendship we share, our conversation endings of hugs and “love you” are words I do not share with many. They alone prove my affection for our friendship.

The whole lesson can be found here as usual on Alexa Maravilla’s blog

Your Self-Love Assignment

Take a few minutes to reflect on the special people in your life. See what gift from your heart you could give them that would let them know how you feel. Could you make a special dinner for your mate? Could you plan a special outing for a parent or sibling? How about bringing flowers or a homemade treat to your co-workers at the office? Or slipping a love note into your kids’ lunch boxes or your lover’s briefcase?

Your assignment this week is to come up with three over-the-top ways to share your heart with those you love. Notice how you feel afterward.

© The Best Year of Your Life by Debbie Ford

Credits: 
* Photo Pose Pic 1: (Eternal dream poses) *ED* in the park – rare couples pose available from the new autumn gatcha machine in store.
* Photo Pose Pic 4: [PM] Suprize! – Prize from PM Poses for rock attitude hunt currently running till november 30th 2013. Don’t miss finding this cute autumn couple pose inside the store.
11 comments on “Lesson 21: Openhearted Giving

  1. Andro
    November 2, 2013

    Thankyou PB. It was a very special gift knowing what was happening elsewhere and you mean just as much to me. x

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 3, 2013

      … pinches some candy from your trick or treat bucket given your busy brushing the handful of leaves that I just threw at you away .. hahaha

  2. Trav Neox
    November 2, 2013

    Have never met a Purple Butterfly that did not make me smile. You are the greatest. Just close your eyes and reminisce, I am sure you will smile.
    Huggs You

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 3, 2013

      Hugs Trav, I always remember the great times we enjoyed and the fantastic chats we shared. Given the season, Halloween and a certain purple witch comes instantly to mind!

  3. Bumblebee
    November 3, 2013

    Lesson taken PB ❤ And in the giving of our hearts, of ourselves, the reward is unfathomable ^^

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 3, 2013

      Thanks Bumblebee. Your right about the reward being amazing when we do finally share our hearts and selves with others.

  4. Dremmy
    November 3, 2013

    Always loved butterflies. But this purple one is so very special. Thank you for fluttering around me every day and making me laugh and giggle. Huggs

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 3, 2013

      Hugsss Drem, you make my day all that much better by leading me astray and helping me find mischief.

      • Dremmy
        November 3, 2013

        Hey, who, meeeee?

      • purplebutterflylykin
        November 4, 2013

        oh that’s right, I forgot for a moment .. we are angels .. *grins and flaps my wings*

  5. Slynny (or Anee)
    November 4, 2013

    Despite my moments of being silly, I know better to doubt how much you care. Just the fact that you mentioned me here speaks volumes. Your are more than a friend to me, you are my sister. We may not always get to speak on a regular basis, but as soon as we can escape our rl, we both know that we will find our way back to each other and pick up as if no time as passed. Love you, sis 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

