a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

A New Year is Coming!

2013 12 31 PB New Years Eve

As the sun rises on a brand new year full of dreams, hopes, prayers and potential there is time to spend reminiscing on the year which the curtain has just drawn.

Life is a battle the majority of time. Where we juggle never-ending workloads and moments of stress. Our wants are curtailed not only be finances but available free time. The unexpected pops up at the least opportune time and amongst all the confusion we strive to improve and change ourselves and the life we live.

For me it seems as if 2013 has been long and drawn out. Battling real life illness for much of the year has seen the energy levels ebb and flow. Patience mixed with frustration and a need for understanding from those around me was thankfully answered.

My SecondLife changed dramatically from what it had been in 2012. As I floundered trying to fill the gaps that had been left as people departed my life. This sense of loss lead to the creation of this blog as I attempted to find wonder and love for SecondLife once more.

Investing myself in the creative exercises of writing and photography revitalised a tired old soul who had fought one to many battles. Becoming part of the blog world, if only a tiny fish in the big sea, renewed my appreciation in the talents of the people who I share SecondLife with. Seeing the focus and dedication of so many, inspired me to stretch my talents that little bit further.

Carrying deep scars from hurt and betrayal left me scared to trust. The emotional side of SecondLife became my daily struggle. Luckily there are those who know and see the worthwhile parts of PB, their refusal to give up on me, even in my dark moments will always be something I treasure.

The love of my SL family and close friends, along with a healthy dose of shopping ensured loneliness was never an issue. With a heart that needs to love, although disillusioned and a tad jaded I was determined not to become bitter and twisted.

After six years of leisure time in SecondLife, work opportunities far to interesting to ignore presented themselves. From the stores who took the risk in putting a little known blogger who doesn’t really blog fashion onto their blogger lists. (see here for list) To receiving the generous offer and opportunity to write for SL Fierce Magazine and the enthusiasm and encouragement of all that visit and read this blog participating with likes and comments, 2013 has ended on a wonderfully high positive note.

I sit here on December 31st stronger than I was this time a year ago. A smile not only on my face but inside my heart. A sense of satisfaction for all that I have achieved these past months, knowing that although still a work in progress, my foundations are now secure.

2014 is guaranteed to be full of twists and turns, just as each year before has. Life is a journey to explore the unexpected. The only thing I can know about my future is that with the continued love and support of all those in my life, I am more prepared than ever and ready to face whatever comes my way.

Happy New Year Everyone, may the very best of life find you in 2014.

Love,

PB xxx

2013 12 31 PB on the edge

10 comments on “A New Year is Coming!

  1. Dremmy
    January 1, 2014

    Happy New Year!!!! Thank you for the laughs and fun we’ve had in 2013.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      January 1, 2014

      I suspect 2013 was just the lead in to prepare us for a totally fun and wicked 2014. Hugs Drem and thank you always for your listening ear, advice and giggles at my antics.

  2. Trav
    January 1, 2014

    PB, Happy New Year to you. You are such a wonderful sweet sweet person. My 2013 was better for you being in it. Always my Guardian Angel and now my daughter. Egads how did that happen? ;-))
    Hugs u tight.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      January 1, 2014

      Awee Daddy, it is important to ALWAYS think of your daughter as sweet. hahahaha. Thank you for all the support and encouragement you have given me Trav over the past year, especially with this blog and my writing. Hugss.

  3. Juggy
    January 1, 2014

    I wish you and the ones you love and care for, a happy and healthy 2014! May some of your wishes and dreams come true in this new year.
    Although we do not spend much time together, I am blessed to have you as a friend……and well, it is you who made me become a blogger too *laughs*, and I have fun doing it. 🙂
    Huggss you.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      January 1, 2014

      Hugss Jug. Although we rarely hang out together I always feel connected to what is going on via our blogs. I am so glad you took the steps into blogging and that you are finding the same enjoyment in it that I do. Looking forward to seeing you hit that 100 post milestone in 2014!

  4. Slynny (or Anee)
    January 1, 2014

    People often say “things happen for a reason” and “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”. They are just words until we see someone like you, living proof of the words. It give a person hope for the future when they see someone who is knocked down time and time again and continues to get back up and come out better than before. Your strength never fails to amaze me and inspire me. Thank you for all you’ve given us throughout the past year. I can just imagine what a wild ride 2014 will be with you, especially with it starting on such a high note 🙂 Love ya sis!

    • purplebutterflylykin
      January 1, 2014

      Sis you have shared my life for nearly a decade and have seen me through so many good and bad times. What keeps me solid and strong is the amazing friendships like yours which I enjoy. Without people like you in my life I would be some blubbering blob at the bottom of the fish tank instead of the killer whale ruling the ocean like I imagine I am hahaha.

      Your comittment to health and well-being amaze and inspire me (especially when I’m stuffing my face with cake and chocolate as your running marathons! Talk about chocolate guilt!!!! ) I am so glad we met all those years ago and not a day goes past when I don’t want to throw sharp pointy rocks at your internet provider for not giving you good enough net for SL. Can you just imagine the mischief we would get up to!

      Our motto for this year Sissy .. “if it doesn’t sparkle, throw glitter at it!”

      • Slynny (or Anee)
        January 2, 2014

        The Glitter Girls are back!

      • purplebutterflylykin
        January 2, 2014

        You better believe it sis :))

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2013 by in Idle Thoughts and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

