a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson 31 – Love Your Imperfections

2014 01 15 PB its NotsoBad

It’s okay to have flaws.

They make you REAL.

Because we know and understand that within us all are flaws, we never hold expectations for others to be “perfect” human beings.  When it comes to ourselves however we often push ourselves to strive for impossible targets of perfection. Falling short of these high standards, those same standards we would never expect of any other, we then beat ourselves up at our failure giving our ego a bit of a dent.

In a virtual world where we can create the perfect avatar you could be fooled into thinking that the struggle for acceptance doesn’t exist. Yet you only have to look at the commentary and criticism of avatar looks by some to realize that within SecondLife just as in the real world, people are quick to judge.

Striving to create that picture perfect avatar requires these days, it seems to attach a multitude of items. From the basics of eyelashes, eyeshadow, lipstick, nails and breast skin enhancements. To the more advance steps of adding mesh breasts, mesh bottoms and I’ve learnt just recently mesh heads!

There have been times over the past twelve months when I’ve seen newly released skins and wondered is my nearly four-year old Laq skin outdated and “flawed” in some way by not being a current release. After testing out demo’s I always return to what is comfortable, what I “feel” is me.

I guess in the evolution of an avatar, there is a point when we become settled and happy with our style. In acceptance of the pixels which become “us”, (to the point anything else feels odd) we find happiness; regardless whether we are wearing the latest fashion or know the current style trends. What do you think?

The whole lesson can be found here as usual on Alexa Maravilla’s blog.

Your Self-Love Assignment

This week, make a list of all the things you’ve disliked, resisted, or judged the most about yourself.

As you read over your list, pause before each item and say to yourself, “I’m worthy of my own love and acceptance, even though I _________.” For example: “I’m worthy of my own love and acceptance even though I’m 25 pounds overweight”; “I’m worthy of my own love and acceptance even though I don’t have a job”; “I ‘m worthy of my own love and acceptance even though I feel lonely.”

Read your list each day, pausing after each statement to breathe in your words, then move to the next item on your list.

© The Best Year of Your Life by Debbie Ford

Credits:
* Dress: J&A rock Culture – Long Sleeve Brown Dot – currently available at the Pure Sales Room for only 75 Linden.
HAIR: DeLa – Mesh Hair “Lori” (Dark Brown 3)
Shoes: Similar – Cariddi (Brown)
Watch: glow studio – Retro double clock bracelet (gold)
Jewellery: EarthStones – Bullseye Earring (Gold/Smokey Quartz)
Purse: O&N – Studs Purse CC (St.Patrick)
Pose: K**stand free 17 – (no longer available)
Location: NOTsoBAD Shopping precident
7 comments on “Lesson 31 – Love Your Imperfections

  1. Slynny (or Anee)
    January 25, 2014

    I’m worthy of my own love and acceptance, even though I’m related to PB 😛
    *giggles and runs to hide*

    • purplebutterflylykin
      January 28, 2014

      We can’t pick our families in real life but gee we sure can online! and yes .. you picked ME! Don’t worry sis, I’ve made a booking for a mental assessment first thing Monday week. Just got to work out now who is going, your or me 😉

  2. Juggy
    January 25, 2014

    You forgot to mention the mesh ears….lol…. (see my post More Mesh, https://wordpress.com/read/post/id/56387147/1250/).
    In general I am satisfied with the look of my avatar, but sometimes it is fun to experiment with mesh body attachments. The mesh ears f.i. can be perfect for a Punk or Gothic look, because they come with ear piercings and if I really and truly feel the need to get myself a ‘trashy’ look, then them mesh breasts can come in handy ;). No experience though with mesh butt attachments……I think mine’s big enough already most of the time *smiles*.
    It’s so true, I too sometimes try a different skin……but hey, when I look at my screen, it is not Jug I see. So yes, at one point you are so familiar with your avatar, that changes made, most of them at the least, you do not like so much and you go back to the look you are used to.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      January 28, 2014

      Oh I did forget the ears and yes I think they are fantastic attachments when you want to change up your avatar in a theme look.

      It is always interesting to see how people style their avatar. I think Second Life would be such a boring place if all our avatars were the same! Of course now you know I’ll be keeping an eye out for you wearing your “trashy” look. hahahaha.

      • Juggy
        January 29, 2014

        LMAO……when I wear them I send you an IM!

  3. Andro
    January 25, 2014

    Love all our “imperfections”… Its what me me and you you…
    Then again I might just be biased x

    • purplebutterflylykin
      January 28, 2014

      Biased ?? winks .. not at all, intelligent powers of deduction at play I think (laughs)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

