a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson 32 – Have Some Fun!

Play builds the kind of

free and easy,

try-it-out,

do-it-yourself character

that our future needs.

~ James L Hymes Jr.

2014 02 03 PB Horse riding embracing the sun

As a child, if the sun was shining and I wasn’t inside the classroom you could pretty much bet your life on finding me outside playing with friends. We would ride bikes, jump elastic and climb trees. I know, surprise, I wasn’t always a girly girl! There was certainly a time in my life when I didn’t mind a bit of dirt on my face.

SecondLife for at least five years was very similar to a playground for me. Dancing was top of my “fun things to do” list. As my attention has become focused on more creative pursuits, such as this blog and writing for SL Fierce Magazine remembering to “play” has become an element in helping to maintain my personal enjoyment level of SecondLife. Don’t get me wrong, I totally love what I currently am doing with my SecondLife but like everyone there are times when I need to relax and feel the rejuvenating effects of doing something with the sole purpose of fun and enjoyment.

Having lived inside SecondLife for over six years and dedicating many hours without much hiatus, (a week here or a week there) at times I feel very “old”. A touch of the “been there, done that” creeps into my thinking. Having to write a list of ten activities dedicated to just having fun for this week’s lesson was certainly an eye opener. I honestly struggled to get beyond six which left me questioning the future for my SecondLife.

2014 Lesson 32 Fun things to do

It is not that I have pushed my SecondLife into a safe zone for I still risk my heart and emotions. My schedule proves I haven’t fallen into a lazy rut as I am busier than ever before. Having been involved in some form of social online medium for over sixteen years I am no longer interested in the entire “meet people/drop off the face of the earth” merry-go-round cycle of friendship. Whilst my desire for aimless stupid SecondLife moments is non-existent.

Right now the enjoyment SecondLife brings to me is captured in the challenges that work brings to my mind and creative spirit. Some might call this “getting seriously boring” but to me it is a sign that I am satisfied.

Could it be true that I have finally done all I wanted or needed to do inside Second Life? I guess only time will tell … in the mean time I’ll just enjoy the sunshine.

2014 02 03 PB Horse riding at Yos

Your Self-Love Assignment
This is fun week! Your assignment is to make a list of ten activities that you’d do on a regular basis if your life were dedicated to having fun. Then schedule at least one of those activities into your week.

© The Best Year of Your Life by Debbie Ford

The whole lesson can be found here as usual on Alexa Maravilla’s blog.

Credits:
Hair: DeLa – Lori (Dark Brown) Mesh Hair
Top: Beusy -Tucked Sweater (Copper)
Pants: tb- Paneled Shorts (Brown)
Boots: MIEL – DANDY BOOT FLOR
Bracelet: alafolie – bracelet AlaFolie3
Photo Pose: Focus Poses Horse Girl 2
One comment on “Lesson 32 – Have Some Fun!

  1. Pingback: Lesson 38 – Play! | a SECOND for Imagination

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

