a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson 35 – Put It On Paper!

2014 02 17 PB at office desk - Procrastination in progress

If we all did the things we are capable of doing,

we would literally astound ourselves.

~ Thomas A. Edison

With best intentions I start working on a project as soon as I am given it. The truth however is I am a terrible procrastinater. Stemming from a strong perfectionist streak, routinely you will find me wasting time thinking about the best way to complete the given task. My best work usually comes when I am under the thumb of a tight deadline for only then does my mind silence the creative side and focus upon the job at hand.

Even tonight instead of putting the head down and writing these words, I’ve chatted in IM and gone to listen to a live singer. As my deadline for publishing before bedtime approaches the mind returns to task. Given my mode of operation I learnt long ago to use lists in order to keep on track. With an over active mind that whirls in many directions, seeing it written in black and white allows me to schedule all that needs to happen, otherwise my life would be constant overdue reminders and missed appointments.

Every Sunday I sit with diary and notepad in hand. Working out the weekly tasks and obligations, along with some hopeful “to do if time permits” items.  Of course this doesn’t mean I always get everything done, many times I forward items on to the following weeks but it does assist in keeping chaos and mayhem at a minimum.

2014 02 17 PB at office desk - thinking

At the end of last year when stores generously began providing their items for review I knew I would need to develop a system to ensure I would be competent and timely with my blogging obligations. My inventory at times is one of those unidentified black holes of space. Items are received and then mysteriously get sucked into a universe only a Linden would have courage to enter.

I attempted a notecard system but found it relied too heavily on using inventory which at times of lag brings only despair. Eventually I implemented a folder system using a date file code  method and that has been successful in keeping things in order with items.

However keeping track of what exactly needs to be done requires me to take my SecondLife information external. Given that my blog writing is always completed outside of SecondLife, I keep a list in a notebook of what items are due for showcasing so that my mind can begin planning photo ideas to fit with the themes of upcoming writings.

2014 02 17 PB at office desk - working

Using draft mode in WordPress, my trusty notebook always has the event dates scribbled in the top corner attempting to help me stay relevant. I have used a little program called, Sticky Notes on my computer for many years. It has been my blogging lifeline many times this years. My desktop is scattered with virtual yellow sticky notes which I delete when no longer required.

Although this weeks lesson talks about pen and paper in the technological age we now live in and with app’s galore for phones and tablets I’m sure there are many other tools out there to help get the information from our heads and into a concise easy to use format. I’d love to know what tips and tricks you use for not wasting time and keeping on track.

© The Best Year of Your Life by Debbie Ford

Your Self-Love Assignment

This is the week to put everything you’ve been holding in your head onto paper. After you’ve captured on paper everything that needs to get done, assign a specific date by which each item will be complete.

The whole lesson can be found here as usual on Alexa Maravilla’s blog.

Credits:
Outfit : Armony Igs98 – Amaterasu Outfit @ The Feeling until 25th February
Hair: D!va Hair – Flora (Brown diamond)
Ring: DESIR – Falbala ring
Bracelet: glow studio – Retro double clock bracelet
Necklace / Earring: PRIMALOT – Thorny Beauty
Office Decor:
Kawaii Couture: Marketplace Connection Laptop
DDD: Fine Chocolates Box (Valentine Hunt Gift)
Second Spaces: craft room – crafts on the go beige
what next:  Picnic Tin Stack Decor
what next: Blogger’s Office Desk & Chair
emm: knackered mess (pretty in pink)
Sway’s: Coffee Mug LoveLetter
tb: Bon Voyage – MP3 (Blue)
R(S)W: Spiral Notebook
R(S)W: Pencil Pot Foil Pencils
2 comments on “Lesson 35 – Put It On Paper!

  1. Slynny (or Anee)
    February 18, 2014

    I want that cow!

    • purplebutterflylykin
      February 18, 2014

      I know isn’t it just fantastic! I have the perfect spot RL that it would work too.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

I wanna let her take control (.. maybe just once or twice) ;)

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

