a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson 38 – Play!

2014 03 10 PB Relaxing by the stream

It may seem like a little bit of a repeat as back in February, Lesson 32 spoke about the need to have fun and play. By simply enjoying ourselves in a leisure activity we get a sense of renewal. This doesn’t mean participate whilst letting your mind meanwhile think about all the things you “should” be doing. To get the benefits of play we need to be fully invested. The pay off is that once we return to the hustle and bustle of life, feeling refreshed we can then focus on the serious matters which happen in life.

As the verified queen of multi-tasking I adopted this lesson. Each week I have schedule time to just park my avatar in a relaxing pose and do absolutely nothing else but chat in IM enjoying conversations with friends. No sorting of inventory; no reading of notecards; no checking blog feeds or flickr.

The benefits of this change have not only refreshed my relationships with others by giving them undistracted attention but I have found myself more productive when it is time to focus on work matters.

The whole lesson can be found here as usual on Alexa Maravilla’s blog, I strongly suggest giving it a go for yourselves!

Your Self-Love Assignment

You are hereby ordered to schedule an activity that has no usefulness other than its enjoyment to you. Go bowling with friends, or perhaps get some art supplies and spend an afternoon expressing your creative side. This is the week to let your playful side out. Notice how your fun-loving attitude translates into other aspects of your life.

© The Best Year of Your Life by Debbie Ford

Credits:
Hair: Exile – ready To Go (Sear)
Dress: Baiastice – Hina Maxi dress (tropical lavender pink)
Necklace: Bens Beauty – One Day Necklace
Decor: 
Table: TNB – Naomi Cafe Table (Floral)
Zaara [home]: Chai assortment @ 2014 March Arcade
PILOT: Lilac Tray
ARIA: Oolong Teacup Planter Succulent Plant (Pink)
Location: Personal Home
6 comments on “Lesson 38 – Play!

  1. Trav
    March 12, 2014

    I enjoy the some of the things that some may see as silly. I enjoy just talking with my friends, dancing and listening to music. Driving my RV is also quite relaxing. I also look forward to blog updates from one of my dearest Auzzie friends in the world. She keeps me grinning. PB u are the bestest.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      March 26, 2014

      You really do build up my ego Trav! Although got to say, everyone should have an Aussie friend or two in their lives hahaha.

  2. spunknbrains
    March 12, 2014

    Good thoughts on this sis.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      March 26, 2014

      Thanks Sis, enjoyed this weeks challenge. Maybe because it allowed me to be a tad lazy and just sit and do nothing but chitty chat haha.

  3. PeepSideshow Darkward
    March 12, 2014

    That is a wonderful thing to do. I really should adopt it – I have trouble just sitting still, even in SL. This is a great way to reconnect with others, especially since I have become more reclusive in SL 🙂

    • purplebutterflylykin
      March 26, 2014

      Peep I totally have to say it made such a difference to some of my friendships which in many ways had drifted as I became more reclusive myself. Sometimes we need to just remember why we added people to our friend list in the first place and reconnect again 🙂

      As for sitting still .. I have the laziest pixels on the planet and they spend most of their time sitting, preferably with food LOL.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

