a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson 39 – Question your Beliefs.

2014 04 03 PB - Basketball


There is agreement at some level that we become who we are in part from the experiences we have lived. As I mentioned before through experiences we learn vital life lessons and skills; whilst others fill our hearts with joy leaving a warming memory to reflected upon. These are positive inputs into the future “us”.

Experiences entwine with feelings, joining together they pen our internal belief system. I often feel as if my belief system is this hairy blob sitting invisibly upon my shoulder. Usually keeping silent with an occasional nod in agreement until those moments of self doubt or low esteem and then the voice becomes loud, clear and somewhat nasally nasty.

Instead of projecting the positive image which I am today of a well educated mature woman responsible for the loving care of her family and proven to have the ability and mental strength to survive many crisis thrown her way. It drags out a faded image of a nervous shy teen. Having been forced into a school volleyball team. One sneaker scuffs the dirt. Her lack of skill evident as she quickly becomes the main target for the opposing team. Instead of a moment of sporting prowess and glory a memory of groans and humiliation remains.

2014 04 03 PB Volleyball

The belief of being an uncoordinated clutz with two left feet and zero sporting ability was formed long ago yet even today leaves me hesitant to participate in any public sporting activities.

As the days turn to years, beliefs formed in Second Life also can loose their validity. Being a world of constant change we can easily try other lifestyles and options. If unsatisfied with the way our lives currently stand we can seek alternatives and satisfaction. This blog was born from the desire to re-create the world that I lived within. Bored with the antics of others and constantly feeling like my emotions were the play toy for others, withdrawing within to create and write was the saving force in keeping my Second Life alive.

One of the gifts that comes with maturity is the courage to question ourselves and everything around us. After realizing my unhappiness and taking the steps to change how I engaged with SecondLife a new life was created as a blogger. Not only have new friendships and connections been born but there is now a belief within myself that I can take a half decent photograph and write the words that people care to read.

The full lesson can be found here on Alexa Maravilla blog.

Your Self-Love Assignment

Make a list of the ten most upsetting events of your childhood, ask yourself the following questions about each one and begin to expose some of your core beliefs:

  1. What belief did I form as a result of this experience?
  2. How long have I held this belief?
  3. Does this belief serve me anymore?
  4. What belief could I replace it with that would better reflect who I am today?

© The Best Year of Your Life by Debbie Ford

Credits:
Hair: EMO-tions – CORINNE (dark brown)
Top: erratic – mindy tshirt
Shorts: erratic – briony shorts (floral pink)
Shoes: Apple May Designs – (AMD) Neon Wings (Pink)
Photo Poses: 60 sports poses (freebie)
7 comments on “Lesson 39 – Question your Beliefs.

  1. spunknbrains
    April 4, 2014

    Great post sissy and just what I needed to today as I am needing to reflect on some things. Hugs.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 4, 2014

      Thanks Sis. As you ponder, find a nice pond to sit beside and see what reflection it shares with you. Hugs.

      • spunknbrains
        April 4, 2014

        ..and you go find your bed!! 🙂

  2. danniokelly
    April 4, 2014

    Bravo!! You are one amazing lady. We had differences and I’m not sure why, but I always thought you a great talent. Keep doing what you do, we enjoy it so very much.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 6, 2014

      Thank you Danni for your comment and encouragement.

  3. Trav
    April 4, 2014

    I have to many questions for myself. Would never have time to dig up all of the answers. So, I just stare out into space and wonder how my friends are doing.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 6, 2014

      Good thing when questioning yourself Trav is that you can change the answers if you don’t like them on deeper reflection or by changing the question.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

