a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Lesson 40 – Indulge

2014 04 06 PB Craft Table - StampsSorry I’ve been a bad friend lately.

I’ve been busy being an awesome hermit!

When I came across this quote it bought quite the giggle to my lips. In just two sentences it adequately expresses how I have felt this past month.

Being one who attempts to meet the needs of others, it is not unusual for me to place myself last on the list for self-care. I knew considerable changes needed to occur when I began to feel drained by my Second Life existence.

As I sought thinking time, my attempt to utilise the “Unavailable/busy mode” only succeeded in offending friends. Being incredibly nosey “Auto Response” failed as I was unable to ignore any flashing instant message box. Leaving Second Life for a time began to look like the only option. Reality had a different plan; yet the end result as I have previously mentioned has been a decrease in Second Life time. Overall this has been a positive change with the time I am online, once again being enjoyed.

The reason I say all this is that being indulgent doesn’t have to be about giving yourself a material “thing”. It can just be about granting yourself the space and time to disappear into downtime.

For my own sanity, as real life began to bite, it became essential for some luxury indulgent moments. I prefer to call these, Stress Busters. Using the same theory as above, my indulgence and hence pleasure has come from tucking myself away at my craft desk, organising and preparing items for a craft retreat over Easter. With the house quiet, even an hour manages to renew the spirit and energy for the following day.

2014 04 06 PB - Craft Box

As for a material indulgent moment. Each Friday after a surprise pick up of the children from school we have bypass via McDonald’s on the way home. I realize McDonald’s is not a luxury to most but with the nearest golden M at least a forty minute drive at a speed of 100 kilometres (62 miles), a large mocha and two macaroons have easily become a major luxury in this woman’s life.

Are you like me and not all that good at indulging yourself? I’d love to know what things bring a smile to your face.

The full lesson can be found here on Alexa Maravilla blog.

Your Self-Love Assignment

Imagine that your favorite person in the whole world is coming to visit you this week. This person has been working hard and is looking forward to some serious relaxation time. Imagine that the two of you have the same tastes, and it’s your job to plan at least three things you can do to ensure that your friend gets the most out of your time together. Write down three indulgent activities that you would like to share with your friend.

Now read over your list, because this is your self-love assignment for the week. Choose at least two of these activities and indulge yourself!

© The Best Year of Your Life by Debbie Ford

 Credits:
Second Spaces: craft room – crafts on the go beige
Second Spaces: craft room – punches
Second Spaces: craft room – stamps
emm: knackered mess – pretty in pink
R(S)W: Spiral Notebook
Sway’s: Coffee Mug LoveLetter
R(S)W: Pencil Pot – Foil Pencils
tb: Bon Voyage – MP3 (Blue)
{af}: Papercraft Small Sphere

 

9 comments on “Lesson 40 – Indulge

  1. Slynny (or Anee)
    April 7, 2014

    Leave it to you to have crafting supplies in SL, too!

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 7, 2014

      Hahahaha of course!!! Mind you, there is no way my RL craft supplies will ever fit so neatly into one box and a swivel rack.

  2. Dremmy
    April 7, 2014

    Are you kidding?? My craft box never looked that neat and clean. lol

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 7, 2014

      Only in SL could craft ever look neat Drem!

  3. Trav
    April 8, 2014

    PB, you deserve to indulge. You do enough to keep 3 people busy. Just do this. Find a rocker, lay back and rock a bit, stare at the ceiling and I’ll bet you will smile. I mean after all you will wonder what the hell Trav is up to asking you to do this. Thats worth a smile. You are the best PB and don’t forget it. Hugs

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 8, 2014

      Funny you say that. My favourite place to sit when visiting my sister-in-law is her old rocker she had when my nieces were born which is tucked away in a quiet spot over looking some gardens. Problem is, I usually relax so much that I end up asleep within minutes.

      • purplebutterflylykin
        April 8, 2014

        I do however spend quite some time in SL curled up on my old rocker and I will admit it brings a sense of calm and relaxation.

  4. PeepSideshow Darkward
    April 8, 2014

    I really need to steal that quote! ❤

    • purplebutterflylykin
      April 8, 2014

      It’s a good one isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

