a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Embrace those Curves

2014 05 17 PB contemplation

With a title like that bet you assume I am going to talk about body shape and the need to love yourself regardless of size, shape and age. Well of course I agree fully with that statement but this post is about a different type of curve, the curve in the journey of life, those much dreaded curve balls.

Being Australian my knowledge of baseball is limited to what information I have picked up from television shows and odd press releases. I don’t know the rules (nor do I want to learn them) or even how many team members are on a team. What length of time a game takes is something I would need to Google.

What I do know, aside from Tara the Hero cat threw the first ball in a recent game, is that curve balls are associated with that sport and aside from being difficult to recognise they are more difficult to hit.

Just like in life when we least expect it, along comes a curve ball our way. The result as it hits us out of the field of play is not that of winner but instead someone with a long run back home.  Okay, I agree, time to give up on the baseball analogue I know nothing of and get to the facts.

Usually we are so busy dealing with the immediate impact of a sudden change in our life that we don’t recognise the positives that are left behind by a forced change of path in our journey. It has been just over a month since I decided to stop posting. My real existence had become increasing complicated as additional obligations to the family were required; not to mention a serious illness that left me one step from an extended stay in hospital.

My struggle to find peace in Second Life however has spanned many months with the past three months seeing me spend more time outside Second Life than ever before in my seven-year existence. While previously I may have spent a week here and there offline I was always connected by email messages and other applications. This has been the first time I’ve really been “away” or taken a break. I will admit it has been refreshing to enjoy those things, such as my craft which was once loved yet forgotten as my virtual world become more and more time-consuming.

The decision to leave Second Life behind was made knowing come July, University studies will leave me little time to dedicate myself to anything substantial in-world. However this past week has seen me return for a few hours at a time. Some relationships have sadly changed because of the distance and I am somewhat bored having little blogging obligations yet my love for this crazy virtual world still glimmers. Some might label this as addiction but I am happy to claim everything is in balance with Second Life relegated back down to being a “hobby” and not a lifestyle.

With Sunday June 22nd the start of the 11th birthday celebrations I look forward to once again playing a role in the sim set up and then playing host at some of the fantastic entertainment which is always on offer. The yearly party celebrations always regenerate my enjoyment of Second Life.

My real life curve ball certainly has pushed me into an unexpected life changing journey but early indications appear there is still life in these pixels after all. My posts may be irregular, my photos often hurried and completed only as time permits, but I do look forward to continuing to share those special moments of SecondLife and new releases from Aphrodite Shops with you all.

8 comments on “Embrace those Curves

  1. Slynny (or Anee)
    May 27, 2014

    Welcome back! You’ve been missed…not by me, but I’m sure someone out there missed you 😛

    • purplebutterflylykin
      May 27, 2014

      HAHAHAHAHA. Omg sis you crack me up. And of course you didn’t miss me cause you never stopped talking to me 😛

  2. Trav
    May 27, 2014

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy she’s back. Congratulations on the University and studying again. Yes, I missed you, I admit it. My life is a curve ball every day, but I always live through it. PB, I am always excited to see a new post from you. SL is something that will always be in our hearts no matter how long or how hard we do or dont play. I still miss it waayyyyyyyy to much. Big hugs and a lil peck on the cheek for you.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      May 28, 2014

      Thanks Trav for your kind congrats. As you know its a terrifying but exciting path ahead for me and I’m just glad I am surrounded by such supportive friends. Big hugs right back.

  3. danniokelly
    May 30, 2014

    Count me in on those who missed you. Once I started reading, I really looked forward to your sharing your talent.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 2, 2014

      Thank you Danni so much for you support of my blog and for continuing to read my random thoughts. It does make such a difference for anyone who shared their words and thoughts to know that there is actually someone out there, somewhere, enjoying it all.

  4. Cougar Sangria
    May 30, 2014

    Sooo good to see you back even if it will be sporadic. Congratulations on University. Huge smile and sending hugs your way ♥ You have been missed.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 2, 2014

      Hugs Cougar and thank you so much for the welcome back. It’s great to be back amongst the friends I’ve made here in blogsphere 🙂

      BTW what a cute cute cute grand-baby you have! I wanted to reach out and give him a big squeezy hug when I saw his picture on your blog.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2014 by in Idle Thoughts and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

