a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Sweet Sugar Silence

2013 08 06 PB Kitchen Rika 5

I find the how a thought for a post is born nearly as interesting as the words used to construct it. Many times after reading another’s blog I wish I could pull up a chair, step into the mind of the author and whilst munching on cookies examine the thoughts behind the idea. What was the trigger which made that particular thought surface and carry it all the way to the publish button?

The why behind each of us turning to the use of words as a form of expression is personal. For me, it brings a moment of relief. My mind, even in sleep, is never silent. Writing therefore allows a focus to that energy. A moment of clarity as I unravel the highway of thoughts.

Over the years I have likened my thought process to a family sized washing machine stuck on permanent deep spin. Sounds exhausting right? It can be.

2013 08 06 PB hanging out washing

A strong desire for organisation and self confessed lover of responsibility makes it easy in the real world to tell that I do not suffer an attention disorder. Friends in Second Life however have learnt to accept a constant level of hyperactivity and randomness within my conversations. Most have realized it isn’t till I hit that wall, when sleep should have been long ago; such as a clock ticking towards 4am; that my mind turns to marshmallow and the conversation turns to one thing and one thing only … “I want cake!”

Aside from sharing my love of cake and inviting anyone to offer me some in-world. Those looking for a little calorie control advice, I’ve discovered the pixel version does not head straight to my thighs and highly recommend its use.

You should be asking by now, what is the purpose behind this post?

After many years struggling with the feeling of being “different”  I’ve reached a point of being able to embrace and even rejoice in the ideas and exploration this thought process bring to my life. As the tangent to this post became evident, I thought, jumping back to the first paragraph, it could be an interesting exercise to share a glimpse of the coffee stained desk of this blog and the chaotic writing process which belongs to PB.

This morning I woke to an email from my sister Slynn. It is not uncommon that we converse with brief emails given time zones and schedules but I was intrigued that it held an attachment and was titled, “I thought of you …”

Raising one eyebrow suspiciously as one does with siblings; and with a touch of hesitance for I remember the last morning email she sent me with an attachment, I discovered the following:

I love free speech

 

This instantly made me laugh as over many years she has watched my mantra of ignore, mute and delete develop. Waiting for my Sunday morning eggs to cook, the question “Do you mute?”, came to mind along with, “do you prefer poached, scrambled or fried?”. For those who are interested,  I am a poached preferred kind of girl with the odd scrambled version appearing on the plate every few months.

Once at the computer the basis of a post discussing the finer points of the ever useful mute button and how it can provide sanity within our virtual existence was formed. With a blank white screen beckoning, words flowed easily. The story creating itself. However as you see, the result is a very different post.

2013 08 06 PB Kitchen Satomi 2

Will those original thoughts and questions ever make it to publish? I suspect so. It is a valid conversation to have regarding the use of ignore, mute and delete and why it is actually good for us.  But right now, all this talk of food has me craving cake, so off to the kitchen I go.

Have a great weekend everyone.

Hugs, PB

 

Credits:
Hair: D!va – Vivienne (Type A – Brown Diamond)
Dress: Violent Seduction – Roseraie (with hairbow)
Shoes: MPP – Bow High Heels
Jewellery: Earthstones – Marquessa Necklace, Earring, Bracelet (Pink Tourmaline)
Photo Pose 1: Starry Heaven Poses – Rika 5
Photo Pose 3: Starry Heaven Poses – Satomi 2
6 comments on “Sweet Sugar Silence

  1. Slynny (or Anee)
    June 8, 2014

    I love that I got mentioned! My 15 minutes of fame 🙂 It turned out great, sis. It is a little glimpse into that wonderful, sometimes wacky, often random mind of yours. Ok, I need to go back and re-read my name in print a few more times.

    Have another piece of cake, sis. Your body is looking a little small to be able to support that big head. 😛

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 8, 2014

      Enjoy the spotlight sis. Shall I print and frame it for your birthday? As for the big head comment, your just envious of my tiny waist 😛

      • Slynny (or Anee)
        June 9, 2014

        No need to go to all that trouble. I’ll just screenshot the part that is about me and make it my desktop background 😛

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 9, 2014

      OMG i’m laughing so hard. Because I KNOW you will!!!!

  2. virtualgent
    June 8, 2014

    Beautifully written as always x

    • purplebutterflylykin
      June 9, 2014

      Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2014 by in Idle Thoughts and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

