a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Shine

2014 10 14 2013 12 31 PB - on the edge

Be proud of who you are,

And never ashamed

of how someone else sees you.

That is THEIR shortcoming not yours.

SecondLife is certainly a fascinating environment to study human behaviour. There is a certain level of observable dysfunction in our social interactions as we go about our lives and friendships. Many studies often attributed this to the “who and why” of those attracted to virtual existence. You will be pleased to know I’m not going to bore you with a psychological essay on the subject, although those who are interested in having that conversation throw out an IM in-world and drop over for coffee and donuts. If enough are interested maybe we can start a monthly book club without the books and just talk!

Those who knows even a little about me are fully aware of my long time advocacy and passion for acceptance and equality. When it comes to prejudice and judgmental behaviour I have zero tolerance and it does appear from time to time on this blog, such as my February post on cyber bullying.

Life is full of boundaries. They vary from person to person, culture to culture. It would be wise to remember that NEVER in life do we have the right to project our own personal expectations and sit in judgement of another. The only relationship I can think of which could come even close would be that of a parent as they guide their children in what is right and wrong. The fundamentals of that relationship however is not one of judgement and adherence but of unconditional love. Even the most disenfranchised and damaged of these relationship has love within its core, with the problem often being tied to ability of expression.

Although there is so much more I could say I don’t want this to turn into a PB lecture so I am going to leave it to a piece of music from Jason Marz to say the words of wisdom that we all need to be reminded of from time to time. How to treat one another really is simple.

Be Kind. Feel compassion. 

Learn acceptance and above all

Respect difference.

Take Care all,

PB xx

6 comments on “Shine

  1. Slynn
    October 14, 2014

    What if I see you as amazing ? Is that still a shortcoming? (By the way, I’m not saying I do see you as that). Shouldn’t you be writing an essay right now? 😛

    Glad I don’t have to feel the sting of this subtle, yet I’m sure well-placed and deserving, slap!

    • purplebutterflylykin
      October 15, 2014

      Laughs .. yes sis I should be writing an essay. I think I keep hoping it will write itself, unfortunately, so far the page is looking awfully blank!

      And awesome huh?? The sheer fact that you put me and that word in the same sentence makes me think you’ve been getting too much sunshine and are suffering heat stroke! Should I call a doctor ??? We can’t have you giving out compliments all over the place.

      BTW … maybe I think your pretty awesome yourself. Hugs.

  2. Trav
    October 15, 2014

    PB, you always stir passion in me with your words of wisdom. I will always hold you close regardless. I am sure you know that already. You are not a diamond in the rough. You are polished and shine like rays of fresh morning sunshine. My day is better because you have passed through it. Huggs.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      October 15, 2014

      Awee Trav such nice compliments, I don’t know how to respond. I am just me and feel happiness if people find some guidance or thought in the words I write. You truly are a special friend and I am humbled by your appreciation and support of me. Hugs.

  3. Cougar Sangria
    October 15, 2014

    You got some serious sparkle going on there GF♥

    • purplebutterflylykin
      October 15, 2014

      Thanks Cougar, however I think I’m outshone by all you beautiful people that I have come to love and admire. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2014 by in Idle Thoughts.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

