a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Bare it all .. Be*YOU*tiful

2014 11 16 PB SL Bare Face Challenge

Confidence!

Wear it like makeup.

After being challenged by both Canary Beck and Sugar Silverstar in the current Bare all Flickr challenge I knew I couldn’t refuse. Not only because these two women would hunt me down across grid until I did submit a photograph but improving self-confidence in girls and woman, especially when connected to appearance is a topic I am deeply committed too in the real world.

We all know the quotes which tell us that it is not what we wear or how we look but our inner self that is the beauty one seeks. These words often ring hallow when we look in the mirror or compare ourselves to our peers. Little comments cause fractures in the armor of self-confidence that we all need to survive life and before long we are doing constant battle with our negative self-image. The ramifications of this are endless. Yet even with all the knowledge we have regarding media photo shopping pictures to ridiculous lengths to edit every blemish or flaw; generation after generation of women place themselves on this battlefield seeking perfection.

We all want to be liked. We all want to be pretty. But pretty for me is not a stunning size 4 model who looks like she hasn’t eaten for a week. It is not the perfection of straight teeth or even blemish free skin. Pretty to me is the woman who can stand there in a crowd with her head held high, a beautiful smile on her lips and a twinkle in her eye, laughing and talking to all who are near her. For me, being able to see that confidence of simply someone being comfortable with themselves is the single thing I admire most in a person. It is something I try to teach my children and hope one day to achieve myself.

The challenge is easy for anyone who wants to participate, just take a photo wearing your skin without lashes, make-up, lip gloss and anything extra you might add to make yourself look SL stunning. There is to be NO editing or Photoshop, this is you in the raw, ala’ natural. I may not see you smile, but hopefully I will see that twinkle!

Oh and who gets my challenge vote … Cougar SangriaSita Writer and Juggy.

Bare Face Challenge Flickr group: https://www.flickr.com/groups/2724920@N24/

I often share a song called Try by Colbie Caillat when my girlfriends, god-daughters and nieces get beat down by life and people. It is true that a person’s worth is not in how they look and I often wonder wouldn’t the world be a nicer place if each one of us was more accepting of difference and found tolerance for that which does not fit into our pre-conceived ideas.

Maybe we just need to stop judging ourselves and one another?

Could the solution really be that simple …

Credits: 
Skin: Laq Tasha o1 Nougat Glow skin
Eyes: IKON – Spectral Eyes (Abyss)
Hair: EXILE – Hold on Loosely (Dark Brown)
2 comments on “Bare it all .. Be*YOU*tiful

  1. Travvy
    November 17, 2014

    You have always been beautiful to me, both inside and out.

  2. Pingback: Bare it all Be*YOU*tiful | Juggy her Second Life experiences

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

