a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

To Be Inspired

2014 11 24 PB Writers Block

Write what should not be forgotten …

~ Isabel Allende

Finding the time to spend surrounded by art in real life is a little difficult with a boisterous four year old in tow. Earlier this year we did venture off to an antique maps exhibition at the National Gallery which I had been wanting to see for months. After many frowns and glares over spectacles he and I ventured off to find donuts and chocolate milk, with me instead buying the exhibition book to read at my leisure later.

I therefore find the Second Life art scene so full of inspiration and over the years have been fortunate to meet and become friends with some incredibly talented artists, singers and creators. Two of these have art exhibitions currently showing which I would like to share.

Canary Beck, of Basilique fame as well as actress director extraordinaire (remember Romeo + Juliet and Paradise Lost performances) recently opened a debut exhibition at the Arts & Culture Community at Wonderstill Ode. Becky’s talent always manages to delight me with Bar Moderna one of her builds with Harvey Crabsticks at Basilique a favourite getaway in the wee hours of SecondLife for Achilles and I.

I was not able to attend on the opening night of the 20th but managed to take some time out today to go view the series of photographs called “Ne me quitte pas”. Not wanting to ruin the visual treat of the exhibition, I will say the creativity found within the selected photographs thought-provoking and for me personally encouraged some internal reflection about body image and the importance of being comfortable within our own skin, even if it is the pixel variety.

I suspect this exhibition is one where what you need to “hear” is what you will find speaks to you and each person will walk away from “Ne me quitte pas” with something different.

Hopefully it will be yet another successful feather in your cap Becky and I look forward to your next challenge.

Landmark: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Ode/217/26/67

2014 11 24 PB Story Time

The second artist is Frankx Lefavre, my Second Life brother who has another exhibition with LEA.

Qualia, the Sentinence of Being can be found on Lea18. A work in constant progress Frankx has tried to represent the thoughts of a human mind working from within compartmental abilities. Moving from the original room of black and white, dissolving doorways, stairways and platforms show the scripting genius of Frankx.

I have long been a fan of Frankx’s ability and often stand mesmerized for hours by the particle show he creates with prims. With futuristic music and items appearing and disappearing you do begin to feel like you have traveled far from home and are discovering something quite unique.

Congratulations bro, keep creating, you have a skill for it 🙂

Landmark: http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/LEA18/29/38/22

2014 11 24 PB Time to Write

My creativity lies within my ability to put pen to paper and breathe life into words and characters from imagination. Amateur at best, for some time, people in both worlds, real and Second Life, have been encouraging me to take what is really just a personal hobby and proceed a step further.

I have made the decision to finally follow a life dream and seriously dedicate time and effort into self publishing a novel in 2015.  A Princess in Plain Clothes found at http://purplebutterflylykin.wordpress.com/ will become the sister blog to a SECOND for Imagination.

It will be a site dedicated purely to my story writing. It will have an adult rating as at times it will have snippets of erotica that come to play in my mind, or a short story plot or even sample excerpts from the novel I have now committed myself to write.  YES Drem, I will write “that” story before you die (laughs at the last pitch Drem did to get me to write).

Some might ask why not just post here and my answer is not that simple. This blog is a collection of random thoughts and interactions about my time and life within SecondLife.  To be true to my desire to create literary masterpieces (I joke here) I felt it necessary to make a home for my words as they weave themselves into characters who have lives of their own.

Although only in early stages I do invite you to come over and visit A Princess in Plain Clothes and maybe sign up to receive whatever coherent thoughts make it into type. Yep, I’m still old fashioned and write best with pen and notepad. It is called a publishers nightmare apparently ….

Credits: 
Hair: TRUTH – Magenta (treacle)
Jumpsuit: KIWI – IRMA MESH JUMPSUIT (BLACK)
Shoes: N-core – TRESOR Galaxy
Ring: Indyra – Minka Crystal Flower Ring (Glass)
Chair: 11th Hour -The Landon Chair (Fabric)
8 comments on “To Be Inspired

  1. Becky
    November 24, 2014

    Hi Purple 🙂 Thanks so much for visiting my exhibit and for sharing your thoughts about it here. I very much hope that people come away with whatever they feel speaks to them through the images. Glad you got something valuable from it.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 24, 2014

      Really enjoyed my time there Becky. I do love how your artistic mind ticks. Congrats.

  2. Slynn
    November 24, 2014

    Sounds like a drunk wrote this! *falls over laughing*

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 24, 2014

      Pours some pear cider on your frosty flakes sis and grins.

  3. Drems
    November 25, 2014

    Yayyyyy. Grabs a glass of wine and curls up in my favorite lounge chair and waits for the first chapter.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 25, 2014

      Chuckles. . you better put the bottle near you, it could take a little bit for the first chapter to hit the stands LOL

  4. Juggy
    November 25, 2014

    You truly kept us waiting for a follow up PB *laughs*……Patiently waiting for the next ‘episode’ and of course, following 🙂

    • purplebutterflylykin
      November 25, 2014

      Thanks for the follow Jug and you know the saying . .good things take time …. or we could just say I’m lazy hahaha.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 24, 2014 by in Creative Moments and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

