a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

When the Heart speaks

2015 02 22 Love in February 2015

I don’t have to say it,
And I don’t have to think it,
Just put your hand on my heart
You’d know.

Having created this romantic love nook earlier in the month for Valentine’s Day (find the credits in the post Fly High with Love), it seemed the perfect place to go hide way for a few hours in Mr. P’s arms. Aside from the whole “day” at the end of its title, there really is no reason why we shouldn’t enjoy love and affection all year round. After all, there is no expiry date when it comes to sipping champagne and feeding on chocolate dipped strawberries.

Whilst deep in conversation I took a moment to look at our avatars. It got me thinking and after pondering for a little bit, I am now curious to hear what you all think.

In this world of text where we rely so heavily upon the written description, is it possible for our avatars to express body language?

Now I know some of you will instantly say, no and dismiss this idea as sleep deprived crazy woman speak. But I challenge you to think a little further field as we dissect what body language could mean within Second Life.

The English dictionary definition reads:

body language: the conscious and unconscious movements and postures by which attitudes and feelings are communicated.

Do we not consciously select which poses to position our avatars on?

If you are anything like me you will have had pixels flying about in a million different positions as you quickly flick through the menu to find the right pose for the moment. I have never been someone who can just sit on a pose ball and let the menu slide through on random. Random I say, who wants random!

Selecting the pose, which dance, or intimate animation enables the meaning behind your fingers at the keyboard to be communicated. It is the vehicle to which we can posture our feelings. It is what I would be so bold to call, Second Life body language.

Now this leads me to further questions. Does our conversation change depending on what pose has been chosen?

It is highly unlikely after all that you will share an in-depth discussion about foot fungus whilst you are gazing lovingly entwined in one another’s arms. Instead you would probably discover the conversation steers towards matters of emotions and messages of love.

2015 02 22 Never Letting Go Again

Bringing me to my last question. Does the pose we sit our pixel form upon, influence and change the real physical feelings we experience?

For me this is an undeniable yes. The visual imagery that Second Life brings to our text sparks our imagination to awaken set feelings for a situation. Drawing upon collected real past experiences with emotion and body language we easily “feel” the correct emotion that particular scenes should evoke.

Maybe this is why photography in Second Life is so powerful? Our eyes let the other senses engage on a creative level finding the emotion within the picture.

Looking at the body language in the photos for this post, maybe you too feel just a tiny tingling of the love shared between the couple?

So drop me a line below in comments and share your thoughts about body language and Second Life. Oh and just a note .. foot fungus should never be discussed inside Second Life, EVER !

Hugs,

PB xx

Credits: 
Hair: Tukinowaguma – Edana
Dress: Zenith – Lana ( Beige)
Ring: CAE – Happily Ever After
8 comments on “When the Heart speaks

  1. Cougar Sangria
    February 24, 2015

    A big yes to all the questions above. The pose combined with the written word allows me to convey exactly what I am feeling on the other side and my mind and heart has been touch in the most romantic and seductive way by the other persons words as well. People may scoff but not me ♥ I believe in “Magic”

    • purplebutterflylykin
      February 24, 2015

      Magic! What a great way to describe what happens when two people feel the words written Cougar. You are right, when we seduce the mind, the heart follows. Hugs

  2. spunknbrains
    February 24, 2015

    Good insight… and your questions are thought provoking… and I think poses as well as our AOs can express body language… and I think that contributes to the way we respond to chat conversations… and as to the real physical feelings.. I think so as well, but I think there are other things to consider.. what your relationship is with that individual and how you view your SL. I’m a bit tired, so hopefully what I said makes sense!

    • purplebutterflylykin
      February 24, 2015

      Yes I hadn’t thought about AOs sis but you are right. Really our AOs add the attitude or persona we want to exhibit. I know sometimes I pull my avatar backwards when I am talking with someone because with its inbuilt walk movements on stand, sometimes I feel like I am evading personal space.

      I’m in agreement that the type of relationship you are sharing of course changes the dynamics of subtle body language but as your AOs point out, even with strangers we are displaying some form of language to them. Got to admit it is a fascinating topic when you start pondering upon it. Hugs and hope you get a great sleep to refresh the body and soul.

  3. Drems
    February 24, 2015

    I agree. It’s magical.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      February 24, 2015

      Should I be thinking about rabbits right now Drem ??? Giggles and wrestles my thoughts back from top hats and mysterious men to those wonderful feelings that we can only feel when two minds collide. Hugs ❤

  4. Travvy
    February 24, 2015

    A great post and my two cents worth. Poses in SL determine everything. Mind set, discussion points and even those poses will effect what goes through your mind in RL after you have logged for the day. Some of the poses have even given me RL chills.

  5. Travvy
    February 24, 2015

    Maybe what I should have said was, “Pose with me” and we can investigate this further. ;-))

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2015 by in Creative Moments and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

