a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

So my Tardis isn’t blue.

2015 04 07 PB Norderney Tractor

We all have our time machines.

Some take us back, they’re called memories.

Some take us forward, they’re called dreams.

I know I am not the only one to wish they could time travel. Since joining SecondLife, I have wished many times in real life that I had a teleport button to press at whim.

As a young girl, obsessed with history and as a Dr Who fan, I use to wonder what it would be like to time travel tardis style and see first hand world events such as the rise of the pharaoh’s, the sinking of the Titanic and snippets of World War 1 and 2. My mind seemed to always play upon the tragedies of life and culture. I was always wanting to know the stories that could lead me to understand the emotional side to humans, that which gives rise to strength of character even at a cost to soul.

I have always believed that when the world is at its fiercest, whirling and whipping around you, all you need to do is close your eyes and find your center. That little place that ticks deep inside and returns you for a moment to where you came from. Lately in SecondLife, a lot of my time has been spent teleporting about, finding places that bring comfort, letting me close my eyes and soothe my aching soul. There is no rhyme or reason to what appeals. Sometimes it is the visually relaxing environments whilst other times it can be simply the choice of music stream.

I sit;  I think;  I dream.

I think about what life means and smile at the beautiful memories of a little girl cooking cakes and whispering secrets to her Nan. Dreaming of that special relationship unlike any other. That is when my childlike wish returns. Once more I want that time travel machine.

But this time I do not seek understanding of the emotions of humanity. This time, this older me, knows far too well the pain of raw emotion.  This time it is all to real. My soul is torn as I seek balance between the motherly needs of my own children and my personal need and that of my Nan to spend as much time together before that final goodbye.

So just for a moment more, I’ll keep my eyes closed. For reality suggests that for now, I need to be content with the time travel that my memories and dreams can bring to me.

Hugs PB xx

Sim: Norderney

Credits:
Hair: Pink Hustler [PH] – 8076 (brown)
Dress: Tres Blah – Darling (Vintage)
Boots: Miel – Dandy Boots
Necklace: Zenith – Peony Necklace
2 comments on “So my Tardis isn’t blue.

  1. Travvy
    May 4, 2015

    What I would not give for a time machine. A teleport button to sl/rl would be wonderful. My mind goes insane just thinking of the possibilities.

    • purplebutterflylykin
      May 4, 2015

      Knowing some of the possibilities all I am going to say is, you’d get in trouble Trav!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2015 by in Idle Thoughts.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

There is beauty in simplicity.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

