a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Travel 52 Challenge – Postcard 13: Lost Horizon

2015 11 23 Lost Horizon - Pond

Life goes by in a blink of an eye, so appreciate the moments.

Phew .. the last month has been like a whirlwind with real life demanding my total attention as both my children reached major milestones.

My eldest said goodbye to his high school years with a flurry of award ceremonies, fun end of school events and “the” graduation followed by a formal evening where those little kids I met when 8 years old now look so very grown up! Entering an exciting stage of life he will head off to college in February leaving me wonder where the time has gone and more importantly why so quickly! It was not that long ago that I held his tiny hand in mine.

The youngest of the family also enjoyed his own graduation ceremony. A preschool graduation would not be complete without random highlights. Obviously bored of standing proudly in the front row in cap and gown and oblivious to the huge crowd he did what I guess we all would do when wearing a “superhero cape” and proceeded with a funky flappy adaptation of the chicken dance for not only his own enjoyment but everyone else as well. Lets hope his new “big” school has the same encouragement and openness for individuality as he starts his formal education journey after summer otherwise I see myself being sat down on a little chair and receiving many teacher lectures over the next 10 years.

2015 11 23 Lost Horizon - Landing Point

I’ve been wanting to post these pictures for weeks so that everyone would get a chance to enjoy the invitation to visit Lost Horizon however I am sadly only leaving you with TWO days, so if you have not visited please stop reading and go now!

Owned by fellow blogger and also dear friend Cougar Sangaria, having seen snippets of the transformation on her blog; visiting this sim has to go down as the top highlight of my year, aside from marrying Mr P of course. I can not even begin to describe the peace and tranquility you will feel as you wander the paths and loose yourself in one of the very best showcasing of Second Life nature found today.

Few sim’s touch me quite so deeply as Lost Horizon’s managed. Maybe its because I’m getting more sentimental the older I get. Or maybe it is because Cougar has managed to capture so many elements of my real life. As I wandered through the forest, the orchard and the pond, I felt at home. Good thing Cougar doesn’t have open access all the time or she might never get rid of me.

2015 11 23 Lost Horizon - Gates

Although I’ve shared many conversations with Cougar I’ve never talked about how I live within a vineyard community nestled at the foot of a mountain range. The land is anything but flat with sweeping hills and valleys. There is a distinct European influence to the architecture and the culture, bottles of wine and wood fired pizza a friday night norm. Grape vines share the landscape with sheep, alpacas, llamas and cattle as common a sight as cars and street lights are to city folk. Houses nestle behind pine tree hedges and iron gates. All these elements I found at Lost Horizon.

The most soul touching spot for me, which made me sigh and totally understand just how lucky a person I am to live where I do and it not be a fantasy, was just behind the main house.

Hidden pass the the rows and rows of vegetable plots was a little Italian gazebo with wine on the table and two chairs to enjoy the sunset. Although my vegetable garden is looking a tad overgrown and the rows are not entirely straight our planned wood fired pizza area is almost a duplicate of Cougar’s imagination.

2015 11 23 Lost Horizon - Touch of Italy

With a renewed commitment to finish the building process in real life I know next summer when I watch the sun disappear below the horizon a little bit of Lost Horizon will have stayed with me forever.

Thank you Cougar for opening your home and imagination for everyone’s enjoyment. You are one of the kindest and most genuine women I’ve met in Second Life and that graciousness and beauty which I have found within you has most certainly flowed into the world you enjoy in Second Life.

If you have made it this far, here is your last minute transport to  Lost Horizon, closing on the 19th December. May you enjoy your visit and take a sip of the red for me when you take time to rest.

Hugs,

PB

 

 

 

5 comments on “Travel 52 Challenge – Postcard 13: Lost Horizon

  1. Wendz Tempest
    December 18, 2015

    I must have missed you by a few hours PB 🙂 Cougar has really truly out done herself, and I love that you’re taking away some RL inspiration for your own space. P.S… did you see the rhubarb in the box near the patio? I have never wanted so badly to harvest virtual food in my life 🙂

    • purplebutterflylykin
      December 18, 2015

      Being a foodie in RL, the good ole virtual food sucks me right in every single time. I love that it doesn’t come live on my arse when I eat it *grins*.

      I did see the rhubarb and instantly thought of the rhubarb pie I make for the family. It was however the vegetable patch, orchard and grape vines that did it for me, I wanted nothing more than to just tinker away for a few hours without the feel of the scorching sun on my back.

      Sighs, one can dream right Wendz? Hugs.

  2. Pingback: Travel 52 Challenge Second Life – Lost Horizon Revisited | Cozey Dreams

  3. Cougar Sangria
    December 19, 2015

    You girls are cracking me up with the talk of virtual food lol. PB, thank you so much for taking the time to visit Lost Horizon. Your photos have captured little snippets of my home that I love so much. Your words have brought me to tears…which is a good thing :). Never fear as Lost Horizon is always, always open to family and friends. Photographers and bloggers that would like to tour and use Lost Horizon as a backdrop for photos after Open House are more than welcome to contact me inworld. Sending you both virtual hugs♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2015 by in Idle Thoughts.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

I wanna let her take control (.. maybe just once or twice) ;)

Hey Baby .. wanna take it from here?

Hold me in your beating heart

No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth.

Let's pack a bag, buy a boat and sail away together.

More Photos

Go Back In Time – The Archives

