a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Ready, Set, Let’s … Delete. – (OC#001)

2017 01 14 Scooter 1.png

She needs no fancy clothes to make her look sexy.

She needs no man by her side to make her look sturdy.

She needs to tell no lies; her honesty is her beauty.

She is smart in her head, and courageous in her heart,

Confident in herself, and compassionate in her thoughts,

Independent and able, strong and graceful.

~Unknown

For anyone who blogs or just enjoys shopping in Second Life, there is an acceptance that the inventory counter increases each and every month. Realizing my inventory at just over 55,000 items is still relatively small for a lot of people, it is the highest it has ever been for me.  And whilst once organised is now getting to the point of being beyond redemption. So at the beginning of January like many others, I decided to attempt another Inventory clean up and organise.

I didn’t want to do what I have done previously, just boxing up items and ignoring complete folders.  This time I really wanted to get rid of the items I know I will never ever wear or rezz again.  You know its time for a major overhaul when you find system clothes that go back to 2007!  Whilst others can just delete entire folders, because I have OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder), it is actually very difficult for me to delete anything and certainly not without seeing what it is.  So as you can imagine, this is an incredibly slow process, especially on the nights when Second Life is playing rezz games.

Given I’m starting with clothing, so as to remove any ambiguity and ensure that items actually did make it into the trash folder, I made a couple of helpful rules for myself which I thought I would share with anyone else considering the same major project.

  • Anything that doesn’t fit my Maitreya Lara body must be deleted. Regardless who the creator is, how much it cost me or even if it was a gift.

As I am never ever ever ever outside my Maitreya body this seemed like a sensible starting point to take. As for system clothes, they honestly need to be long gone, there are no excuses!

  • Only keep shoes which fit the Maitreya body feet or Slink feet. For boots if they can’t be fitted, then they get deleted too. 

Same reason as above. With an over abundance of shoes which have literally cost me thousands and thousands of lindens over the years (and I continue to buy new ones every month at events) it is insane to hang on to those old shoes complete with ugly feet and toes that needed colour matching to skins and once were the height of fashion when I have beautiful feet on my mesh body.

  • Box up all Slink shoes becoming only one inventory item.

This is a step by step process of letting go of these items and limiting the guilt that I have for having never worn most of them.  I know others do occasionally wear their slink attachments (hands and feet) with their Maitreya bodies but with so many shoes, I have a beautiful collection for my Maitreya feet these days, plus I admit to being far too lazy to change to slink feet just for a particular shoe.

  • Go through the “outfits”folder and if keeping, delete all the base avatar links.

You’ll be surprised how much can be deleted when you are taking out those AO, eyes, hair base and always worn jewelry links.  After all, if its already on your avatar, you don’t need to add it again.

  • With so many new options available if an item isn’t doing it for you when you put it on, you’ve moved past the style, or if it looks dated, and of older mesh quality, then the trash is the best place for it.
  • Remember those prim nails? Delete them.

With slink hands and mesh bodies the need for them is obsolete. Given my already admitted laziness I have boxed up all the nail appliers for my Slink hands, keeping them for some just in case moment OR for easy deleting in the next major inventory purge.

2017 01 14 Scooter 2.png

Now to explain what OC is in my blog title.  Whilst always aware that I have more clothes than my avatar will/can ever wear.  Doing a deep purge and organisation really allows you to see what is tucked away in the dark recesses and which items still make you smile.  With that in mind, I’ve decided to do an Old Clothes (OC) pictorial for the remainder of this year and invite you to play along with me.

What are the guidelines?  Well lets keep it easy and fun. Basically use any clothing item that has been in your inventory prior to 2017. (If you right click on the item in your inventory and bring up properties it will list an acquired date.)  Take a photo and put it on your blog linking back here so I can come and comment!  Keeping to my new years resolution of unplanned time, there are no fixed time limits, do what fits within your schedule.  I am committing to one a month but as it only needs to be a photo I am hoping to do one most weeks when study allows.

So today for OC#1, I went back to June 2014. Re-discovering the Tee*fy Laura Unbuttoned Knotted Shirt (Pink) matched with Tee*fy Leah High-Waisted Skinny Jeans (Bloom).

An unexpected bonus to doing inventory is finding fun gacha toys!  So whilst I rock out on my scooter I’ll leave you with a fun country tune by Chase Rice. (even if he is talking about those pick-up kinda wheels, that us country girls so love. LOL).

Have a great weekend everyone and ready, set, GO.

Hugs PB

Additional Credits

Silver Consignment Seaport Scooter

Hair: Exile – Eyes On Me

Glasses – Balaclava – Mikael Glasses (pink – group gift)

 

11 comments on “Ready, Set, Let’s … Delete. – (OC#001)

  1. Travvy
    January 15, 2017

    Another great and interesting read from my Guardian Angel. Thanks for the time it takes to write these. Love reading them.

    • PurpleButterfly Lykin
      January 15, 2017

      Awe thanks Trav, glad you find something to take away each post. Hugs.

  2. Alexa
    January 15, 2017

    I have to agree that it was so much easier to go through shoes and clothes this go around of cleaning out my inventory. I didn’t hesitate much. My next real sorting will be my animations folder. So how much did your inventory go down to?

    • PurpleButterfly Lykin
      January 15, 2017

      It is still a work in process, I haven’t even finished my shoes or dresses let alone all the other bits and pieces in my clothing folder LOL. But the count at the moment in just a few nights is a decrease of nearly 5K. Hoping to by mid year get a significant number down and a much more organised iventory.

      • Alexa
        January 16, 2017

        Good job for just a few days!

  3. Pingback: Inventory digging – OCC 01 | Juggy her Second Life experiences

  4. Pingback: Here it is, OC 02 | Juggy her Second Life experiences

  5. Pingback: Another favorite designer (OC03) | Juggy her Second Life experiences

  6. Pingback: No matter where it takes you, always seek out the truth. (OC#04) | a SECOND for Imagination

  7. Pingback: Dare to Dream (OC04) | Juggy her Second Life experiences

  8. Pingback: Showtime – OC05 | Juggy her Second Life experiences

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

