a SECOND for Imagination

PurpleButterfly Lykin

I’ve Been Keeping A Secret ..

2017 05 23 Swinging on my own

But it’s finally official … and I want to share.

The ache in my heart has been replaced

and I am head over heels in love!

“The heart wants what it wants. 

There’s no logic to these things. 

You meet someone and

you fall in love and that’s that.”

~ Woody Allan 

We met online. (surprise, surprise, doesn’t everyone these days?)

I was meant to be studying …

I flicked screens and there was his face staring right at me.

A couple of text, some emails and a single phone call was all it took.

It wasn’t planned, but I know it is meant to be.

 

Why do I love him?

Well, he wears the same colour as my favourite food … ALL the time.

And has the wettess little nose, four little feet could ever own.

He’s my brand new baby boy, and I’d like you all to meet …

BAXTER ❤

Baxter 4.5 weeks.jpg

I’ve been a dog lover all my life and when my baby boy Jackson passed away last year I knew at some point my heart would heal enough to get another dog.  Having owned Kelpies for the past 23 years, and still missing Jackson so much, I knew my heart just couldn’t go there.   In my mind, I HAD decided that a little dog might be nice.  Like a pug, which could easily curl up beside me on the couch every night and who I could blame for my snoring ….

But when it came time to finally choose, I had to think of the whole family, especially a little boy who desperately wants a dog to love of his own.  So knowing I needed child-friendly, loyal and loving, I returned to the breed I had as a child, my very first love, a Labrador.

Baxter won’t end up curled on the couch with me once he’s grown, but if his head rests on my feet each night, that will be a pretty close second.

❤ PB

 

4 comments on “I’ve Been Keeping A Secret ..

  1. Cougar Sangria
    August 10, 2017

    Oh how sweet he is! I lost my beloved Bailey about 3 years ago to brain cancer. He was an Irish Setter, the breed I most love and he was such a lap dog lol. 60 pounds of love he was. So gentle with the grandbabies my 2 year old Grandaughter led him around with ease. Just recently I have thought about getting another dog. I haven’t acted upon the thought yet but maybe one day. Congratulations on the newest member of your family! Hugs♥

    • PurpleButterfly Lykin
      August 22, 2017

      LOL when a dog wants to be a lap dog they don’t care how big they are right!

      It’s a big decision to add a dog to the family, especially when you’ve lost one so dear. All I can say is little Baxter has filled my heart with love ten times over and it was something I was totally not expecting. Think I’m getting soft in my old age hahaha. Hugs ❤

  2. Juggy
    August 10, 2017

    Ohhhh, so adorable. Heck, they shouldn’t grow up and stay like this 🙂 Congrats and huggss to you PB and pet lil Baxter for me. I mean give him a hug too 🙂

    • PurpleButterfly Lykin
      August 22, 2017

      Can’t believe how easily he’s captured my heart. Something special about this little brown bundle of fur ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2017 by in Idle Thoughts.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow a SECOND for Imagination on WordPress.com
PurpleButterfly Lykin

PurpleButterfly Lykin

Just a virtual girl living in the virtual world SecondLife.

View Full Profile →

Check out my Flickr

Go Back In Time – The Archives

